If the Pants Fit…

I’m a little hesitant about writing this post mostly because I’m not sure that I actually believe what I’m going to say.

I stepped on the scale yesterday, and today just to check, and it turns out I’ve lost 25lbs since January. It’s really exciting because it’s something that I’ve been needing to do for a long time, but still hard to believe because I’ve struggled with my weight since puberty. Actually, I just started gaining and never started loosing. I’ve had health problems that have been related to my weight and anything that I’ve tried in the past didn’t seem to make much difference. I tried cutting back on what I was eating a bit after we got back from Christmas holidays, and then about a month ago started on the Atkin’s diet, which basically has you eating salad and meat. It was enough of a boost that my body started losing and now I’m not so hard core on the diet and am eating some carbs, but the quantities are a lot different. More salad, no potatoes, no rice, no bread. Well, occasionally those things, but usually a bite or two at most.

I’m proud of myself. It feels good. But, like I said, still hard to believe because it’s always been a couple of pounds dropped, just so they could come back on again. I do have a goal and I’m definitely not there yet, but seeing some good progress makes me happy and makes me see that it isn’t impossible.

Chris has been really encouraging which is fun because we both get excited about it. My only problem now is that most of my pants and shorts are getting a bit too big. The fun thing for me is that if things keep going like this by the time we go on our vacation I’m going to need to get some new clothes, not out of being frivolous, but because it’s that or I walk around with no pants on. That could be embarrassing.

This entry was posted in randomness by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

4 thoughts on “If the Pants Fit…

  1. Dear Annonymous :)At first I was trying to just watch what I was eating. Surprisingly enough, one of the biggest things I did was stop using sugar in my coffee. Sugar has always been a big one for me so that bit first thing in the morning got me started on the rest of the stuff I was eating, like bread and pasta. Doing the first two weeks of “Induction” with Atkins was good. Basically the only carbs you eat are from vegetables, but you can eat all the meat you want, eggs, and stuff like mayo, mustard etc. You can get all the info on the web page – atkins.com I think. After two weeks of not eating sugar and stuff that I used to live on I’ve found that I don’t really crave it anymore. If I do have some it’s just a taste, but I don’t need a lot of it and the things that I look forward to are a good steak or salad – go figure. A friend here taught me how to make a great dressing from 2 cloves of crushed garlic, about 1/4-1/2 tsp salt, lemon juice and oil. I add a bit of dill too, then soak all of the harder veggies like tomatoes, celery, etc in it and add the lettuce just before you eat it. Sooo good! I don’t even miss Ranch anymore! Okay, maybe a little ;)Exercise here is a huge challenge because even going for a simple walk means having everyone in the community knowing that you’re walking and stating the obvious when you do it. I wish I had a treadmill most days. So to answer your question, no, not much exercise.

  2. Thanks for the update! I am just a Livesay stalker and now have been checking in on your blog too, as they have yours linked to their site!:) No sugar is an awesome accomplishment. I like to call my coffee “dessert” coffee! We used to live above port, at the baptist Haiti mission. years ago now, but it seems like yesterday! Keep up the good work! Amy H.

  3. Good job on the weight loss! I found it easier to be more conscious about what I ate in Haiti where I had less access to junk foods and processed/packaged foods, but still hard to stay away from all the delicious fried Haitian food! Keep up the good job and you will definitely deserve a good shopping trip on your next trip out! It also feels way better when you get to buy new clothes cause your current ones are falling off!

Leave a Comment

