A Bit More About Today

So I threw off the accounting and decided to go with the cleaning option for today. I started in our bedroom and am ashamed to say that I swept a pile of dust out of there that was big enough to fill a cereal bowl. I’m not exaggerating. It’s sad, I know. The whole exercise prompted some furniture moving to eliminate dust bunny hiding spots. Chris isn’t one to take to change quickly so I begged for a month long experiment and used the “I’m doing this for your allergies” approach. I have a feeling we’ll learn to live with it and be quite happy.

We headed out to La Digue to go get our loot. We stopped in Montrouis to pay our power bill. We’ve been trying to pay our power bill for two years and every time we go in they can’t find the receipt. Chris saw the EDH guy this morning in the bank and he had finally found a bill. Our whopping total came to just over $2,000 Gourdes, about $55 US. Yeah, that works out to about $2.25/month. See, don’t you wish you lived here??? Actually, our meter has been broken for two years and we keep telling them that so when it gets fixed we’ll probably have to pay more, but seriously, is it really that bad?

After paying the power we went on our merry way and got stopped short just past Montrouis because of a flat. Sooo, I got a quick lesson in tire changing in Haiti. We put the spare on and headed back to town only to find that the nail that punctured the tire had actually ripped a hole in the tube about 8 inches long. We wandered around to a few stores while we waited for the tire to be fixed. Chris went to try to buy a new jack and the guy at the part store asked where the good looking woman was. Chris said, “Oh, you mean my wife?” The guy then told him how lucky he was to have a such a beautiful wife. This place can be good for a girls ego at times ;)

We had a good visit with Troy & Tara. Tara has a cute little baby bump starting and she makes a good looking pregnant woman. I’ve decided that I’m going to hire her, Britt and Paige as personal shoppers from now on. I don’t need to even step foot in a store, just give instructions, perhaps a photo or two and enjoy the results. They were able to find me a couple pairs of shorts and some tank tops that all fit so wonderfully. I’m so glad I don’t have to worry about losing my pants anymore.

We went straight from La Digue to St. Marc to drop off a truck load of love bundles for Barb to give to her students. We got halfway between Pierre Payen and St. Marc and got another flat. Woo hoo! Two in one day. Our pit crew had that thing changed in under five. I would just like to say for the record that the spare tire cranker was so fast that the nut remover thought she was taking a break when in fact she was already done. Barb was thrilled with the love bundles, which come wrapped in a towel and have some toiletries, school supplies and other things in them that the kids will love and be able to use. I’m going over again tomorrow afternoon to help her sort them a bit more and get them ready to give to her kids. Her neighborhood is really poor and the school she runs is for kids that can’t afford to go to a regular school here. The stuff in the bundles will be more than most of them have ever received in their lives.

Chris is sitting here playing with his new computer. That was in the loot bag along with all sorts of other random things that we got excited about. Okay, maybe more him than me. I have to admit I have a bit of computer envy. I’m excited for him too though because this is the first brand new one he’s owned. You forget how much you rely on things like communication, and the tools that help you do it until you don’t have them. Last week when his old computer died it was a reminder of how limited our access can be.

I can smell the rain coming. We need it so badly. This last week has been so humid and we keep waiting for the rainy season to really start. It seems like everywhere around us is getting it. It’s been so hot and dry that the lake down the road had dried right up. You can see dirt. Sigh.

This entry was posted in this is haiti, this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

One thought on “A Bit More About Today

  1. Hey Les-Glad everything fit well. It was also fun spending your money. :)Will you remind Chris to track that missing package and let us know what you find out?Have a good weekend. We love you!T & T

Leave a Comment

