My Lack of Bloginess

Our internet connection has been really crummy for the past few days so having any motivation to sit here and wait 5 minutes for a page to load, then actually write and hope it posts just hasn’t been there.

Yesterday was Labor Day here which meant a holiday. Our neighbors were out for the weekend so we did a bunch of visiting. Yesterday Chris and I decided that we were lame and needed to find more entertaining things to do than sit on our computers for hours at a time. We decided that when we have a long weekend come up we’re going to try and plan some trips to see more of the country. Chris has already seen a bunch of things and often thinks from the been there done that mentality, but I haven’t seen anything outside of our area and Port so I figure after a year and a half of living here it’s time for him to revisit a few things so I can see them too.

Today, after I do my accounting, we’re going to head out to La Digue to see Troy & Tara & brood and pick up all of the stuff that Tara was willing to pack in for us. Poor woman. Not having mail here sucks and makes things a lot more difficult. With the weight loss thing I’m having problems with not having clothes that fit so she volunteered to be my personal shopper and pick a few things up. Chris’ computer also died a week or so ago so he had to order a new one. Stuff like this would be no problem normally, but when you live where there aren’t even proper addresses, getting the stuff you need can be a challenge. We’ve got sprinklers and office supplies in there too I think. I honestly don’t think Chris even remembers what he ordered. Oh well, it’ll be like Christmas in May.

I need to clean my house this week too. Ugh. I wish everyone reading this could understand how much dust sits in our house. Seriously. If you want a good idea, go outside, get a hand full of dirt, then throw it at your ceiling fan while it’s on and let it fall where it may. Then sweep it up and five minutes later do the same thing. There really is no way of beating it unfortunately. I have some other projects that I need to get done too, like finishing the windows. I started painting the bars black about two months ago. I got 3 windows done. I have 4 more to do. Maybe by July they’ll be finished :)

This little do-it-yourselfer was at it again yesterday. Chris and I put the couch out in the dorms a while ago because his allergies were acting up with it, even though we had it recovered. We bought these cool patio style chairs thinking they would be okay for the house, and if you’re only sitting in them for about 30 minutes they are, but any longer and crankiness enters the picture. I’ve got a bit of a sewing background, and currently have use of a sewing machine, so I offered to strip the couch down to the wood and start fresh. Yesterday was day one of dismantling. Now I understand why Chris’ allergies would go crazy. Apparently the couch sat on the side of the road for sale for who knows how long before it was bought and brought here. Most of that dust is still sitting in the couch. After I get everything ripped off I’m going to make a few structural modifications to make it a bit more comfortable, then recover it with new foam and upholstery. This of course got my brain working in overdrive and I started thinking of more stuff I would like to do… Don’t worry, I’m making lists :)

Okay, time to go do some work. Maybe I’ll clean instead of doing the accounting…

This entry was posted in this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment