7 Things You Don’t Know About Me

Tagged by Tara.

1. My three front teeth are only half real. I had a misfortunate Tarzan rope accident on my 14th birthday that resulted in me kissing a rock. 6 stitches, a black eye, an almost broken nose and some hefty dental work two weeks later and here I am. I’m actually kind of glad I had the accident because the scar on the inside of my lip evened out my smile.

2. I don’t really like being wet unless I’m in the shower or swimming or something like that where I’m supposed to be wet. It’s weird, I know. I just have issues with moisture, like wet clothes or sleeping on wet sheets. My husband has no problem with this and often tries to share his wet hands or shirt or self with me. I usually run away.

3. I LOVE the wind. I love standing in it, sitting in it, hearing it… It reminds me of God and that even though I may not be able to see him, he is there and he is powerful and active. I also love the feeling of the wind, just the fact that it can sweep over things. It makes me feel refreshed. Especially here where it can be the one thing that makes a horendously humid day bearable.

4. I have a hard time following written instructions. I guess I’m more of a learn by doing kind of person. Most often I can read instructions (I do generally start there), but it enters my head as, “Whah, whah, whah…” If there are pictures I can deal. I very rarely follow a recipe to the letter either, unless it’s baking a cake because they can be a bit temperamental. I kind of like to think of a recipe as a guideline, not a be all or end all. Maybe I have some serious control issues… :(

5. I enjoy watching “The Bachelor”. I’m a big enough person to admit it. You can judge me if you want to. I don’t care. I know it’s trash tv and I could be doing better things with my time, but I love to watch how people deal with situations that can be totally ridiculous, especially when they choose to put themselves in it. My favorite thing is seeing the crazy people found out and booted off the show. I guess I still like to see the good guy win. I also like to take personal wagers to see if my predictions are right. Like this time around, I’m going with Tessa. If I lose no biggie.

6. For the last few months before we got married and a few after I kept asking myself if I was/had made a mistake. Seriously, who picks up, moves to the third world, starts a relationship a month before, gets engaged 5 months into it and marries the guy before the year is up? I was feeling so overwhelmed with dealing with Haiti and figuring out life that I got hung up on so many things. Deep down though when I asked myself how important all the little things that were coming to mind were I realized that they weren’t that important at all and that even though I didn’t know the end result I was willing to try and that was all I could do. Today I see how right for each other Chris and I are and am so thankful that I took the plunge because I couldn’t imagine not being married to him. Sigh.

7. I’m pretty creative and am a self-proclaimed do-it-yourselfer. Going back to the not liking instructions things I often think of the end result of something that I would like to do/make and work backwards. I had a sewing teacher in high school that said she just loved to sit and watch me work because she could see the wheels turning and if she asked me what I was doing I couldn’t tell her, I just had to do it and show her when it was all done. I’m like that in my work too. I know what I need to get done and figure out how to get there. This often makes it hard for me to work with people because I don’t know what to tell them to do because I’m still figuring it out myself. My current DIY project is the couch. I’ve got it mostly taken apart, I have a pretty good idea what I want it to look like finished and where to get the stuff. Now I just need to finish taking it apart and figure out how much stuff I need and start rebuilding.

I’m tagging…

Troy L.
Mary P. Did hers. Check the Comment section.
Mum R.
Liz R.
Missy K. (soon to be R)
Val T.
Krisit in Haiti (I don’t remember your last name!)

You can either post your 7 on your own blog and comment in mine so we know you played and where to find your answers, or just post your 7 in the comment section.

Cheers!

This entry was posted in randomness, thinking out loud by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

3 thoughts on “7 Things You Don’t Know About Me

  1. 7 Things you Didn’t know about me1.I have triple “E” wide feet and am extremely high arch which makes it impossible to find shoes. Skater shoes and sandals are my best friends.2. I will listen to static in the car if I can’t find a radio station just to have the distraction.3.I love to drive. Doesn’t matter if it is 5 minutes down the road or a 12 hour road trip, I love to do it.4. I love to watch the wind blow over the fields in Saskatchewan. I think that is the most beautiful thing to watch.5. I like to think outside the box. I look at the big picture rather than the little parts. Due to this problem it sometimes takes me longer to actually achieve the big picture.6. I find it easier to identify with children than adults.7. I have moved 19 times in my lifetime. Pretty crazy but I have lived in some pretty fantastic places.

  2. I also don’t like to be wet other than in the shower, especially my face (and even in the shower for my face!) One time I got a facial and it was horrible to sit there with all that wet stuff on my face… Ugh!So did you watch the Bachelor that time he called the wrong name? That’s one of the only episodes I’ve ever seen and it was super funny!Ok so my 7 will be on my myspace (you should totally have one and so should CWFH) but give me a couple days first. I’m slow :)http://www.myspace.com/lizrolling

  3. I did see that episode and it was SO funny! That moment of dead silence when everyone realized what happened…priceless!

Leave a Comment

