It’s Mutton to You

Okay, so add another one to the list of new and not anticipated life experiences. Today we brought home Dinner. That was the name that I gave the sheep that we bought about a month ago. I figured it would make the whole eating thing much easier. We left it at a friends house to get de-wormed and fattened up a bit and yesterday was the last day of that poor little guys life.

I’m getting used to having to do things here that I never would have had to do back in Canada. Like, from scratch. Today, I learned about butchering a sheep. We got the meat in big pieces. We had to make little pieces and put meal sized portions in the freezer. I am not a butcher. Chris is not a butcher. What to do?

When I moved out on my own my mom was able to find a copy of our favorite family cook book. It’s one of those back to basics, just good food types of books. It was one thing that I decided to bring with me when I moved here and now it’s dog eared and stained, just like any good cook book should be. It tells you how to substitute for missing ingredients which has come in handy here living two hours out of the nearest grocery store bearing city. It also has several pages dedicated to meat. More specifically cuts of meat. You can look at the big chunk and see what you get out of it after it encounters a big knife. Soooo, with cook book, cleaver and even a saw in hand we did the deed and now have many meals of mutton on our hands. I made Chris do all the big chopping and sawing because I am a girl and girls should not have to do those things. I figured if he wanted to eat it, it was the least he could do. Tonight we decided to try some of the chops (I guess you could call them lamb chops since he wasn’t that old) done Jamiacan Jerk style. We had them on our trip to Jamaica earlier this year and they were super yummy. Tonights were better though :) So Mom, know that the book has come in handy in more ways than one ;)

Last night I added a site counter just out of curiosity. I was pretty amazed this morning to find over 50 hits. I had no idea that many people were checking this thing out. When I started writing a year and a half ago it was mostly just to have somewhere to write about all the stuff I was seeing and processing. If people read it, great. I generally have the same people commenting so it was fun to find out that there are a lot more of you lurking in the shadows ;) So, to all you lurkers and friends, thanks for reading. It’s nice to know that you’re interested in what’s going on here. I would love to find out where you’re from if you’d like to tell me. I need to get a guest map back on here, but until then you can always post in the comment sections. Even if it’s just a “Hi, my name is…and I’m from…”

Okay, have a great rest of the weekend!

~Leslie

PS-The picture posted with yesterdays “7 Things” post is me, but I don’t look like that all the time. Just sometimes. Generally though, I would say I’m much less freakish.

This entry was posted in this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

4 thoughts on “It’s Mutton to You

  1. Hi Leslie, I’m Amy and I read your blog. Oops, that sounds like an AA type thing, not what I meant it to sound like. I started reading Tara’s blog and followed a link from hers. We are in the process of adopting a 9yo boy through HIS Home for Children. My in-laws are missionaries in the Cap Haitian area. They’ve been there for 23 years. Hubby lived there for a couple years in the mid 80’s. We’ve been to Haiti several times and Lord willing we’ll be there in June to sign some DHS papers. We live in TN. Keep blogging.Amy

  2. Leslie,I’m Ellen and also “found” you through the Livesay’s weblog. I’m a Canadian living in Maine, and made it here from New Brunswick by way of Nova Scotia and Virginia. No easy explanation for that. I’ve been to southern Haiti twice through connections with the hospital I work for…..and will make it there again, God willing. I enjoy your writing, so please keep doing it.PS: it takes a special kind of guts for a woman to post a picture like that of herself :) Love it!

  3. I agree with you about being amazed about who is actually reading your blog! I found the same thing when I added my map & counter to my blog when I was still in Haiti and then also to my blog when I moved back to BC. There are hits from ALL around the world and while most of them don’t leave comments – it still amazes me that there are people out there reading what I write! Keep on blogging though! I love to hear your accounts of life in Haiti – they are real and that is awesome! I look forward to new posts – especially ones like when you guys kicked Port’s behind! Makes me feel like I am home in Haiti!many blessings to you & Chris!

  4. HI Leslie: I’m Kim from Seattle. We are adopting from Haiti and will be going to visit for the 1st time soon. I too, LOVE your blog.We want to do alot of Missions work someday. And Haiti seems, ummmm, interesting. :) We will keep praying about that one!

Leave a Comment

