Not Much to Tell

Chris is going to be taking an unexpected trip to Chicago in a few weeks to take care of a bunch of mission business so we’ve spent the morning in front of our computers exercising our credit cards and doing everything from booking his plane ticket to ordering things that need to get there in two weeks.

I personally am kind of relieved that he’s going, not because I’m sick of him (quite the contrary) but because I was having a bit of a dilema. When we go back to Canada/the US in August we have two weddings to go to, both of which are semi-formal, one of which is for Chris’ brother. One of them is also two days after we get back on North American soil. One of those days will be spent making the 8 hour drive from Seattle to Armstrong, BC where my family lives. Ladies, are you understanding what I’m saying here? Yes, how on earth does the missionary who wears shorts every day in the country that doesn’t have a mail system or shopping malls get something to wear for a semi-formal wedding, or two, happening two days after arrival in the land of plenty??? Because Chris is going to Chicago I was able to order something online this morning to be delivered there for him to bring back. My biggest concern wasn’t about getting something because I could have had it sent to Seattle to meet us in August. It was that because I’ve lost a decent amount of weight that whatever I ordered wouldn’t fit and I wouldn’t have time to find something else or alter what I got. Now I’ll have time to do both. Phew! Yes, it was such a crisis, I know. In all reality it’s pretty minor, but just another challenge of living here and still having some sort of life back in North America.

Other than that there isn’t much news from here today. I wish something really exciting had happened. Oh wait! I did get air bombed by a hermit crab this morning. He parachuted down from our upstairs loft and landed on the floor right beside me and started making a run for my feet. Don’t worry, Chris saved the day.

This entry was posted in this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

2 thoughts on “Not Much to Tell

  1. Let me know what you think about what you ordered when it arrives. I hope it works out for you! (: -Missy

  2. Gosh, I just hate it when crabs come flying out of the sky ;)If you guys have to order anything else you can always have it sent to me here. I know you also have Joel but in case you need another option…

Leave a Comment

