Pre-Weekend Musings

My knees are sweating. It’s not and all out drip down my leg kind of thing. More of a subtle warming where I finally touch myself to see if everything is okay and find out my knees are slippery. Before I moved to Haiti I had no idea that knees could sweat like that. Some days they do drip down my legs which is really gross.

The tooth is feeling better today, thankfully. Dr. Mike said it would be a bit sensitive, and it is, but it’s getting better. Yay!

Yesterday on the way too and from the clinic I saw a voodoo ceremony in Lester. Lester is known as being a really “hard” city. You can tell when you drive through on market day and the road is full of people. It just feels angry. Anyway – I thought it was interesting that the voodoo ceremony was in a very open place, then I realized that because it’s so prevalent here people don’t feel the need to do them in secret.

I love driving through the Artibonite Valley. It gives me hope for Haiti. Mostly because things are generally a lot greener there throughout the year. When the rainy season starts it’s encouraging to look up at the mountains and see them starting to green up too. There aren’t many trees, but the scrub brush starts filling in and makes things look new again. It also reminds me of how beautiful Haiti is. It really is. Despite the way the land is treated, there are so many beautiful things about this place.

Tomorrow Chris and I are heading out to Gwo Roch to visit the people that are starting the filter project in the prisons. They invited us to come when they were here for the class so we thought now was a great time to go. It’ll give us an opportunity to talk through some of their plans and to bring them a batch of filters to get things started. I haven’t ever been past Port au Prince so I’m looking forward to the trip and seeing more of the country. I’ll try to take plenty of pictures.

Have a great weekend!

~Leslie

This entry was posted in this is haiti, this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

