Pack Your Bags and Get Out of Town Boy!

Chris leaves tomorrow. He’s packed. How a man can live out of a carry on bag – a loosely packed carry on bag – for a week is a mystery to me. I’m getting better at downsizing and have always been considered a super packer (my college friends would recruit me to pack their cars at the end of the year) but for the life of me I can’t do a week long trip out of a carry on. I think women by nature just need more stuff.

I’m going to miss Chris, but am also looking forward to tackling a few things while he’s away. It’ll actually be nice to miss each other because we’re always within shouting distance. Let’s be honest, sometimes we just run out things to talk about, and end up looking at each other saying, “SO, what exciting things do you want to do tonight?” and then keep staring at each other because there are NO exciting things to do here. It’s sad, but true.

There really isn’t much to tell. The most thrilling thing that’s happened in the last two days was a good rain on Sunday night that cooled things off enough to warrant a sit on the deck in flannel p.j. pants and a mug of hot chocolate. Though, for May I guess that’s something. We’ve spent the last couple days making final orders and getting everything together for Chris’ trip. A trip out and back in always means stuffed luggage. This one is going to be a bit more exciting because aside from the things that Chris will be bringing back with him, he’s also going to be making a day trip to Grand Rapids with a mini van to drop a bunch of stuff off at Rays of Hope for Haiti, an organization that ships containers to Haiti several times a year and gives missionaries a good rate. There are a bunch of larger items that we either can’t get here or are too expensive to get here so we’re going to load that sucker up. We’ll be getting more diffusion plates for the filters, a new welder, a new water pump, a washing machine, and…and…and…and I don’t even know what else. It’ll be like Christmas when it arrives.

Like I said, not much else to tell. I’ll try to have some big adventures over the next couple days so that there’s more to blog about.

This entry was posted in this is life, travels and adventures by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

