A Girl On Her Own

Chris arrived in Chicago late last night. I would like to say problem free, but that’s not the case. I of course didn’t know this until this morning when I checked my email. I was going to stalk him online, but got distracted with Craig’s List. Turns out his 7:15 flight didn’t get off the ground until around 10:30 pm. He wrote me an email from the plane and said that he forgot about the Daylight Savings time (Haiti didn’t change this year!?!) and showed up at the gate after the departure time to find out the flight had been delayed. Then when they went to start the plane to taxi the engine shut itself off… He eventually got into Glen Ellyn around 2 am. Poor guy.

I’m fine. I’m being well taken care of here. Jean got back from taking Chris to the airport and made sure to give me the talk about closing all the doors and that he would come by in the evenings to check on me which he did. I thought it was all very sweet. Jan Filip made sure he was here well before the sun went down too.


My first day of soloness involved cleaning the house, and making dinner with rubbery chicken and undercooked noodles which was odd because that would have previously been my specialty. Whatever. I watched a movie as I ate. Then I was a nerd and hung out on my computer all evening looking at Craig’s List and trying to find things like a microwave and fridge that we can put on the
container. Our current microwave is okay, but it’s starting to do this inside melting thing. Any reasonable person would deem that unsafe. We are finally moving into the realm of reasonable thinking…
We do have a fridge, but Chris bought it when he was young and not so versed in power consumption. Even after an application of oh so sexy shiny insulation it still sucks, so we’re going to try and find something a bit more power friendly. Used of course, but better.



I’m excited about a find that I made yesterday. I get frustrated with not being able to walk here. Okay, it’s not that I’m not able to, I do have legs. It’s that the whole experience is anything but pleasant and enjoyable. I’ve tried. My attempts have resulted in being followed by people I really don’t want to have following me and having people yell things that really don’t need to be yelled. It’s not fun. When we found out that there was a container shipping and made the decision to put as much on it as possible I asked Chris if he would be okay with me getting a treadmill. I found a cheap manual one that’s never been used, and it’s only about 10 minutes away from where Chris will be. The manual thing is great because it won’t drain the batteries, and it folds up to stash away. It’ll be so nice to be able to walk again, I’m so excited! Losing weight it great, but I can only do so much with eating better. At some point exercise needs to enter into the picture.

I think I’m going to head into Montrouis today to pick up a few things. A guy we know decided to open a store there a while ago and we were a bit skeptical at first because of the things we heard that he was going to be carrying in it. It was classic case of Haitian grape vine though and it turns out he was just putting in a store that actually has things that people can use. Go figure. Normally people in that area would either have to go to St. Marc, which is past us, or to Archaie which is about 40 minutes south. Not fun on a tap tap. The other alternative was the market and that can be slim pickings. He carries things like toilet paper, dish soap, tylenol, diapers, shampoo, soap, some housewares, and some clothing. Actually, it’s way more convenient and I’m impressed.

I’ll see what other really exciting things I can find to do with myself today. The dog was a bit of a nutbar this morning. There was a lot of snorting and jumping in circles. It was pretty funny.

This entry was posted in this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

One thought on “A Girl On Her Own

  1. that’s so sad that you’re not able to walk in your community… Do you have Haitian female friends you could walk with to help “negotiate” the comments/following? I don’t know why but it makes me sad to think you don’t feel comfortable to stroll around your area.

Leave a Comment

