Feeling Blessed

Paul sent me these pictures last night so I could see what Chris was up to all yesterday…


Somewhere in there is a fridge if you can believe it. And apparently they weren’t even done yet, still a box or two to put on the roof! John spent the entire day with Chris helping load and pack :)

Aside from a few of the tools, the welder and the water pump, most of the stuff that’s going on the container was donated to the mission by our friends and the wonderful people at Dupage Vineyard. They’re a little church with a huge heart. When Chris emailed to ask if they could find a vehicle for him to use they responded with not one, but several offers, and asked for a list of other stuff. Chris wasn’t even quite sure about what would be coming to church with everyone yesterday so I think he was a bit blown away at their practical display of love. I am too, but I think it’ll hit me more when the container arrives and we bring it all back to the mission and start unpacking. The people of Dupage are great and we feel so blessed by them every time we see them. Thanks Dupage!

Chris and I have some other news and I was waiting to throw it out there to the blogosphere until after we told friends and family. That has been done now so I can tell you.

I’ve mentioned that we want to start our family by adopting here in Haiti. We made some decisions a couple weeks ago and have some plans now. We want to officially “jump in” in January after we return from our Christmas break. We’re excited and scared and hopeful and confused…there are so many things we don’t know and so many questions to ask. We have plans to meet with some people here in the coming weeks to start talking through the process and finding out what we need to do. Because nothing in Haiti is normal and regulated consistently the biggest challenge will be navigating through that and having to deal with the inconsistencies.

It seems strange to think that we’re actually starting a family. It’s just been this thing that we’ve talked about abstractly until now. I’m feeling a lot, some of it hits me unexpectedly. Yesterday when I told our other missionary friends I did it through tears because stuff just rolled over me and I realized they were the first people that were told face to face, not through email or an update letter. The day after we made the decision I was working in the kitchen and almost started crying when I realized that maybe that little person that God’s got in store for us is already on the way. I know this is going to be a huge time of learning and growing for us, and I know parts of that will be hard, but I’m looking forward to seeing who it turns us into as people.

Have a great day!
~Leslie

This entry was posted in adoption by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

5 thoughts on “Feeling Blessed

  1. Leslie:Congratulations!! I am a friend of Tara’s and I read your blog often. I am so happy for you and Chris.We adopted twin girls from Haiti, at the same time that Ike and Hope were adopted. They are such a blessing to us.I will pray for you throughout this process.Love,Karla

  2. Oh Leslie,Congratulations!!!!I’m so happy for you, I’m in tears for heaven’s sake!!!!!That’s really wonderful!!! Keep us posted ok!!!Hugs!!!

  3. Wow – Leslie, I am so happy for you & Chris! First off to have been so blessed by the Dupage church with all that stuff! It will be like Christmas unpacking that container! And then to be preparing to start a family! I am sending you a big HUG from afar! My eyes started tearing up as I read your post and I think it is so awesome that you want to start your family through adoption. I love reading stories about how God has placed children in families and there are so many kids in Haiti who need a family! Congrats on being willing to be a parent to a child in need. I will be praying for you guys as you embark on this journey and that God will be right beside you through the whole process! I know that God already has the child picked out for you!I can’t wait for updates on this journey and see what God does in & through you – Many blessings–Theresa

  4. Chris told me this week and I am so excited for you both. I am especially happy for the precious little baby who is waiting for you. It will be a wonderful life for the little one with you two for parents. Chris sets a wonderful example for both his coworkers and observers in Haiti with his loving, consistent, and respectful treatment of children. I personally have never seen a Haitian man similarly interacting with children in Haiti.And you Leslie, we all know you are a bundle of love. Now you will absolutely bubble over with even more love to give. I Praise God for you plan and pray His wisdom and blessing on you as you move forward. Hugs Zanme Ou Barb JPS Just after I dropped Chris off at the airport I heard from one of my son’s that and I am going to be a grandma again!

Leave a Comment

