Birthday Wishes and Weekend Update

Today is Chris’ Mum’s birthday, so HAPPY BIRTHDAY MUM! We love you and hope you have a great day and don’t hate me for the picture – it was all I had :)

Chris and I went into Port for the weekend just to get away. We did have a couple things to do but mostly we were going to visit friends and had a really relaxing, mosquito free weekend. I didn’t realize how mosquito free until I got home and got attacked. It sucked.

The VW was the mode of transport and it did okay. It’s still in the “working out the kinks” phase, though I don’t know that you ever get them all figured out. It’s much more comfortable to ride in, that’s for sure. I didn’t bump my head once.

We went to a BBQ on Saturday with our friends and met some more Embassy/US government workers. It’s interesting to talk to people and find out why they’re here, and for them to find out why we’re here. We often get the “how long are you staying?” and “what made you decide to come here?” questions. We’re meeting more and more people that are interested in what we’re doing which is exciting. Water is becoming a huge focus for a lot of organizations so I’m interested to see what kinds of projects we’ll see starting up here in the next couple years.

Nancy took us to an antique store. Again, I had one of those “I had no idea this existed here” moments. It was fascinating to walk around and see the things the owner had collected. He’s got a bunch of reproduction furniture made by some craftsmen early last century. We may pay him a visit down the road because we need to find something a bit more butt friendly for the house and it’s hard to find good quality, allergy friendly furniture for a reasonable price here.

There isn’t much else to report. Two of our technicians are off to Terre Blanche today for a week to work with some previously trained technicians to help get a project off the ground. Chris has gone to borrow a lawn mower and I’m catching up on email. It’s Monday. Mondays generally aren’t that exciting.

This entry was posted in randomness by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

One thought on “Birthday Wishes and Weekend Update

  1. Thanks for the birthday wishes! I guess you need a better photo of me, not “hot and sweaty without makeup” Sara, but “sophisticated but matronly realtor” Sara. Hmm, not sure I can do that.

Leave a Comment

