Random Things

We had a good rain last night. It started around 5:30 with some cracks of thunder that made me jump out of my chair. Once it started it just kept going and stopped sometime in the night. It was such a nice break from the heat because lets face it, sweating all the time is not fun! After we watched a movie I decided to curl up in bed with a book and enjoy the coolness. It was great to fall asleep to the rain falling too.

The day after a rain seems to have everyone moving slower. It’s still overcast and cool which is a treat. The guys didn’t arrive until about 6:15 am. I imagine being in a house with a tin roof during a rain like last nights doesn’t lead to much sleep. I whine if things feel damp. I don’t think I’d do well living in a house where the possibility of flooding was there every time the rain fell. But then again, I am spoiled.


Chris and Jean are “rolling” the lawn. Yes. Rolling. This is apparently the step before cutting. I guess it makes sense. We planted sod in chunks and are letting it grow in. It’s working fairly well and I think after this rainy season most of it will be filled in. The result of sod chunks though is little mounds and you wouldn’t think it would be a problem, but I can’t count how many times I’ve tripped on one. Not fun. Anyway, this is what it looks like…

It’s basically a cement drum you pull around the yard, and it’s not easy. I’ve already heard complaints of a near heart attack this morning…

I made yogurt yesterday! It’s surprisingly easy. 6 cups of whole milk warmed to the point of not being able to put your finger in, but not yet scalding/boiling. Pour that in a bowl with a cover and add about 1/8-1/4 c. of live culture yogurt – any kind of yogurt that you buy in the store that needs to be refridgerated. That’s your starter and activates all the little things that make more yogurt. Cover it and wrap it in a towel, then put it in your oven – with the oven OFF. Let it sit for 6-10 hours and you get yogurt! If you want flavored yogurt add vanilla and sugar or honey until you get the flavor you want. If you set aside about 1/4 c. from each batch you have new starter. Eventually you need to start with brand new starter, but I don’t know how long that takes. Anyway, I would recommend it. I even used whole milk powder and it worked great and no powdered milk taste.

Okay – work to do! Have a great day.

~Leslie

This entry was posted in randomness by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

2 thoughts on “Random Things

  1. Yay yogurt! Nikki always wanted to do that, but I don’t think she could find any starter. Plus, we weren’t sure how the milk powder would turn out. I’m so excited for more variety for your diet!ValPS tell Jean to put his hair back on, he’ll get sunburn!

  2. Sounds so yummy, I am a big fan of vanilla and love vanilla yogurt. I found that I had to use strawberry yogurt for a starter and even the little bit needed still left a strawberry flavor in the yogurt. I never tried the oven method but would put the dish cover on and set it where the sun would pass over and in about 10 hours Voila, yogurt. I hope you enjoy, enjoy, enjoy. Barb

Leave a Comment

