This Is Why They Make Crash Test Dummies

I went to Montrouis this morning to drop off some stuff that friends of ours are taking back to the US for the mission. On the way there I started noticing a bad sound when I went through pot holes. I got to Bev & Richard’s, checked the truck for obvious things like flats etc and noticed that the truck was sitting low. Jean had just brought it in after driving it and passed off the keys so I assumed if there was anything major he would have told me and thought that maybe they had done some work on it. I don’t know, I’m a girl and focus on girl things and let the boys take care of boy things.

On the way home the sound got worse and started reminding me of a particular incident about a year ago…when the cab came completely free of the frame. No joke. No exaggeration. It was literally not connected.

Every pot hole had me cringing and when I pulled in the driveway I told Chris that he needed to check it out because of “the sound”. I think it’s important to point out that when most women mention that the vehicle is making a *sound* most men think they’re just being women – my husband is not one of those men, thankfully – both for my ego and for our vehicles.

Chris looked at the truck and the first thing he said was, “Um, why is it sitting that low? That’s not right…” I know it wasn’t me – I’ve been losing rather than gaining weight! He started looking underneath and then I saw the look on his face I knew that I had been driving a death trap, again.

See, we’ve had to weld every single part of the KIA back onto the frame, not once, not twice, but about three times! This will now be number four. Blah! We HATE this truck. Just in case you think I’m exaggerating or being dramatic…

Just sitting…
A pull down…see the truck covering the wheel?
Just sitting…
And being pulled down again.


There are some things in life that are just not right, and this is one of them! To the lovely people at KIA…you really need to use those crash test dummies a bit more because, well, I think it’s obvious why.
This entry was posted in this is haiti, this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

2 thoughts on “This Is Why They Make Crash Test Dummies

  1. You are not a crash test dummy! What was actually wrong with the truck? Other than it being a Kia. :(Is it broken welds that hold the cab to the frame? Or the suspension? This is not a third world vehicle. Go Diahatsu Delta!!!Repeat after me Les, “I am not a crash test dummy.” Barb

  2. Hi Les-I am thinking about you — and so bummed about the Ipod thing. I am holding out a tiny itsy bitsy bit of hope that my menapausal mom maybe packed it and does not know it — it is highly unlikely but it is my last hope. I am so sorry that your marvelous gift got stolen by some scummy person. Blah.Happy Birthday —- I hope you get a baby this year for your birthday. :) T.

Leave a Comment

