29

That’s me…29. It was my birthday yesterday. So far I don’t feel any older. Then again, I still have to stop and think about my age whenever someone asks. I started losing track somewhere around 26.

Yesterday was low-key. It’s been hot, we’ve been cranky, and soooo looking forward to the weekend so we decided to stay home and do a whole lot of nothin’. Chris has been sad because the GREAT birthday present he got me got stolen out of the mailbox so it never made it here. Some very thoughtful person is now enjoying my iPod. Thanks! Have fun with it. He did give me the car connector for it, but I don’t know that it’ll do me much good now. He just wanted me to have something to unwrap and it got some giggles out of me.

We watched a few episodes of 24, then I spent the afternoon looking for books online. It sounds lame, but I enjoyed myself. I’m realizing that we’ve got about 6 months to get ready for this whole baby thing, and I don’t really know where to start. Basically all we can do until August/September is plan and start working on paperwork. When we’re home in Canada my Mom and I have plans to do some *window* shopping to get ideas and make lists so she can get a bunch of stuff and bring it in November when they come.

I’d like to get some good books while we’re home, or order them ahead of time. I would love recommendations of books that you’ve found useful/informative about adoption, baby books, etc.

Our friend Yveto stopped by yesterday afternoon and ended up staying for dinner which was a nice treat. I met him during my second trip here in 2005 and loved him then. He’s been living in the DR and working with YWAM (Youth With a Mission) for almost the last two years. Unfortunately most of the visits home for him in the last year or so have been for family funerals. It was nice to know that he was here just to visit this time. We spent several hours talking about so many things. It’s interesting to hear his thoughts on life now as a young Christian Haitian male that’s had an opportunity to live outside of his country and have some other life experiences. He has a heart to see his country changed and I believe that God is going to use him in the big picture.

Today we’re heading into Port for the night so we can meet with John & Beth McHoul first thing in the morning. I’m feeling excited. It’s hard to believe that we’re starting the adoption stuff. Tomorrow will just be a time to talk and find out what we need to start working on, but it’s the starting place. I’ve found myself thinking about baby stuff constantly these days, but I guess that’s normal when you have an “arrival” date in mind. I keep thinking about all of the stuff we need to get done around here between now and then, with a month’s holiday and classes and visitors in there…sigh. I know, one day at a time ;) But it’s all so EXCITING!!!!

This entry was posted in thinking out loud by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

3 thoughts on “29

  1. Yikes, your photo looks just like me and all of my friends! That means you have a minimum of thirty years before you even begin to resemble that shot!Those pink curlers may even be back in fashion by then, a power saving device right? :) Barb J

  2. Happy Belated B-Day, Leslie! Enjoy the last year of your 20s – Next year you get to start counting backward! :Pcheers,Missy

  3. I have a question about your future adoption. Have John and Beth said anything about the length of time you have been married in relation to your being able to adopt? Does it make a difference because you are living in Haiti? I have a friend who would love to adopt from Haiti. She is getting married later this summer. When I told her about the 5year marriage requirement she was pretty bummed. Has this changed?I have some pretty good books for you to read. I have them loaned out to our youth pastor and his wife who are adopting from Ethiopia. I will forward you the titles and authors.Cheryl

Leave a Comment

