Electric Shock Therapy

It’s hot, we’re sweaty, and perfect bait for mosquitoes. And, for whatever, or maybe I should say multiple, reasons we’re swarming with mosquitoes here in good ol’ Pierre Payen. Today though, I started fighting back. I found the mosquito zapper that someone gave us as a wedding present last year, put in fresh batteries and have been swatting all afternoon. Let me tell you… there’s a lot of satisfaction in hearing that thing snap, crackle and pop as it destroys the little monsters. Whoever got the brilliant idea for the beautiful contraption is my best friend today.

We ended up heading out to Port early on Sunday – just because we’re whiners. It’s been so hot that the thought of using our friends for their AC was incredibly appealing. A Haitian friend of ours told Chris today that Sunday was one of the hottest days he’s experienced in a long time. That wasn’t encouraging, because we know that the hot season is just starting – and we don’t get to leave for a month and 24 days. Blah! The weather is affecting our brains so much that we decided to put off our Jacmel anniversary trip for later in the year. Chris made the point that the thought of leaving the hot beach to go to the hot beach doesn’t really sound fun right now. We’re opting for a trip to the cool mountains instead.

Our meeting with John and Beth was really good. We LOVE them. Love, love, love. They’re great people and we’re looking forward to getting to know them more through the whole process. John gave us the list of stuff to start working on and it all looks very manageable. The next 6 months are going to be busy!

My brain is going into further melt down mode so it’s time to sign off. Happy Wednesday!

~Leslie

This entry was posted in this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

One thought on “Electric Shock Therapy

  1. I was in PAP Sunday for church at Quisqueya. It was brutally HOT! I totally know what the Livesay’s are saying about the heat now. The other times I have been to Haiti have been up near the Baptist Mission in the mountains. There is no comparison to the heat index!Cheryl

Leave a Comment

