If Pepto Bismol Were Blue…

I imagine this is pretty close to what it would look like:


This is the finished product of the painting the railings and stairs project. It’s not quite what I was aiming for. I was hoping for something a bit darker… Chris’ reaction when he walked in from Port yesterday night was (as I grabbed his sleeve so he wouldn’t sit on the wet stairs), “Oh. Did you seriously paint it blue?” Yes. Thanks for the vote of confidence.

Usually I get excited about projects. This one is going to take some time to grow on us I think. Seriously, does it look like baby blue? I was going for a light Caribbean. Ugh. I think I need to stop obsessing and just deal with it.

The good news is that with our new light Caribbean stairs and railings there’s one more project I can check off my list. I am slowly regaining my sanity. After I cleaned up my paint stuff I managed to get the house a bit tidier so it feels less “projecty”. Tomorrow Chris is going totally destroy that and tackle the kitchen wall with the goal of getting it all done so Luxon can come in and do the cement work to make it a nice doorway, not a ragged one, and block up the old one on Saturday.

In mission news Chris and the guys delivered 30 filters to another community in the Artibonite on Tuesday and 30 to Port for a jail project yesterday. Like I said, we’re keeping busy :o)

I think this sweaty girl needs a shower.

This entry was posted in crafty, randomness by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

3 thoughts on “If Pepto Bismol Were Blue…

  1. When did you read the Poisonwood bible? I just noticed your new tagline. That is one of NIkki & I’s favourite books…and also my aunt who gave it to me, my cousin who drove me to my aunt so I could have it, and my friend who lost it after I loaned it to her in Africa!Anyway, I like the blue stairs. But then again, I like all blue things, and few ucky brown ones.

  2. I read it while you were here, in secret, behind my curtain, under my mosquito net. I have to admit I was secretly hoping you would forget about it when you left;)Still not sure about the blue… You of all people will understand the dust issue. I tried explaining this to my husband today and got glazed eyes. Yonese appreciated it.

  3. The paint is a Carribean blue and looks just fine to me from here. Perhaps the dark beams add a contrast that throws you off. White and blue is classic and since you are in the Carribean this blue is a natural. It doesn’t look at all like baby blue to me. It is not “sissy” blue (sorry folks I am quoting someone we won’t name.) that is more like a rather bright mid blue that most guys don’t like. A uniform or girls gym suit color. You did a good job Leslie. Barb :)

Leave a Comment

