Not Much To Say

I have my kitchen back to working order! Yay! I think Yonese washed every single dish in the house and having everything out of the cupboards gave me a chance to go through things and downsize a bit. We’ve done this a couple times over the last year because there was so much in the house from what was here when the mission moved in to what was brought in or bought here. Now that we know how we live and what we need for teams and groups I can start “thinning”. So far I have a HUGE Rubbermaid full with more to go. Thankfully between other missionaries and our staff it’s always easy to give things away. I know there’s a bunch of stuff coming on the container too so I imagine I’ll be doing this again in a few months.

Chris is upstairs taking down the walls as I speak. Yesterday he was pacing around the house which means he was thinking. When I asked what about he told me that it had never occurred to him that we move our bedroom up to the loft and eventually have the baby downstairs. It had run through my mind, but I know he can only deal with one thing at a time so I never shared. It would have it’s advantages and disadvantages. We’re thinking about it. I think it’ll mostly depend on whether we can control the dust up there for his allergies. The thought of having a lot of space for our room is very appealing…

I’m making my first attempt at making cinnamon buns. I’ve got menus planned for our Vision Trips and for visiting groups, but need to do a few practice runs at some things to make some final decisions. I figured Chris would make a good tester. I know groups are tiring but I think part of that for us in the past, at least for me, has been trying to balance people and staff. I enjoy cooking so I’m actually looking forward to cooking for a few more people. Not having to check on kitchen staff and being able to plan and prep in advance should make things a bit easier for me. I won’t really know though until I give it a try, and if it ends up being too much we’ll make some changes. Degaje!

Chris and I are going to Furcy again this weekend. We’re taking our friend up on his offer to use the house for a weekend of R&R before things get hectic. We’re both looking forward to it. It kind of reminds me of getting ready to head up to the cabin that my grandparents owned for a good part of my life. The fact that it’s going to be high 90’s temp wise around here makes it even more appealing.

Sounds like the drums in the neighborhood have finally stopped. There’s been more voodoo ceremonies happening recently close enough that we can hear them. Last night at about 10 pm we both woke up to yelling and the drums went all night.

Yesterday we had a big storm start to kick up just as Yonese was getting ready to head home. She was frantically getting things finished and trying to get her stuff together and telling us that there was a syclon coming. Chris got on the computer and pulled up www.tropicalstormrisk.com to see if there was a weather front moving in. There wasn’t and it was fun to show her it was just wind and rain. When it did hit though, it was a LOT of wind and a bit of rain, at least where we are. I think we’re a bit more protected here. We tried calling our guardian to tell him not to come to work but he couldn’t hear Chris and told him they would talk when he got here…he laughed when he found out we were calling to give him the night off :o) This is what it looks like to watch a storm come in from our patio/front yard…

If the camera was zoomed in more you would see the waves moving in from the left of the picture around the point.

You can see the storm is moving left to right…north to south.

It always looks bigger when you’re right in the midst of it. When I took this picture the wind was starting to pick up more. Eventually when the rain hit there were trees that were really bending and Jan Filip, our guard, said that some people lost their roofs. You can’t see it in the picture and the ones that I did take didn’t come out clear enough, but there were two guys in a small Haitian wooden boat stuck out where the waves were really big. They did eventually make it to shore – Mesi Bondye!
This entry was posted in this is haiti, this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

2 thoughts on “Not Much To Say

  1. Stop messing with my head — if the storm was coming in from the left, isn’t that south, not north?I love storm watching as long as I’m dry and safe! Even lightning storms thrill me. I’m glad they don’t scare you either.I guess the only thing to fear there is the coconuts falling during the storm. Oh, and the voodoo would leave me a little unnerved.

Leave a Comment

