Into the Vaccum of My Head

Leslie’s hot and mosquito bitten and starting to feel cranky and in need of a nap :( Why Leslie is also talking in the third person, I’m not sure.

Luxon came in and spent the morning doing the tile in the doorway, and after a little clean up around the edges it’s done. The rest of the clean up was done by him, not me, and without asking. If you could see me as I’m typing you would see a BIG smile on my face. I have hope that maybe some things do change around here.

I’ve spent the morning writing the quarterly newsletter. Not my favorite job but it must be done. Yes, I know, you’re all falling off you’re chairs right now, and it’s not from excitement. Now you know why I don’t blog much about work. It’s just not that interesting.

Yonese is here to get a jump on getting ready for the class next week. Later we need to talk menu’s and get some shopping lists made. Actually, I leave that up to her because she’s the cook and she knows what she needs. I don’t go near the kitchen when we have classes in unless it’s to help wash dishes. I’ve tried cooking for Haitians before and was informed that no matter how much food you make, if there isn’t rice and beans they won’t think they’ve eaten. Sadly it’s true and I’ve seen several people look down their noses at a table full of food. I learned quickly to hang up my apron and leave it to the pros.

We just hired our very first female filter program worker. That’s pretty exciting. Julie is going to be our educator and will be responsible for following up on all installed filters and giving sanitation and hygiene education to recipients and their communities. I was encouraged to hear that she already does work in her community by giving people help in their homes when they’re sick or not able to get out. She’s also been a teacher in the past. We’re hoping she works out well.

If anyone has any good ideas about getting rid of mosquitoes I’d love to hear them. We are swarming in them right now and nothing seems to be working. The mosquito repellent we have is more like scented water. I have more bites than I can count and it’s making me cranky.

Okay, my brain just turned to mush. I have nothing more to offer you. Nothing.

This entry was posted in thinking out loud, this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

3 thoughts on “Into the Vaccum of My Head

  1. The tile looks great, the clean up is good too. Sorry about the skeeters. Only thing I know is to get rid of standing water every 24 hours. You could go sit under the mosquito net. I am sure you have already discovered that if there is one hole, one tiny mosquito sized hole they will find it and invite their friends along too. Some people say a little paste out of msg will cause the itch to go away. I do believe you have a surplus of msg in most things Haitian. You could smash some Maggiand and if the idea in general is effective then so should be the Maggi. Right? My grandma used to rub bacon grease on me to kill chiggers. Do they have chiggers in Canada? That is a distinct movement toward being off topic here. Just tryin to distract you a little bit. Barb :)

  2. Val – pa menage de JR – yon lot moun ki rele mem bagay.Barb – The bacon fat was distracting – for a second. We don’t let Maggi in the house anymore :)

Leave a Comment

