How to Properly Waste A Saturday

Yesterday was a great day. The three of us got up at random times and did nothing but sit in front of our computers for hours. Some of you will think that’s lame, but when there is little to do and you actually enjoy things like playing computer games or looking at crafty things online it’s fun. Diana had to work, poor her :(

Around 3 pm we all piled in the VW slathered in sunscreen (oh wait, that was me) and let Diana treat us to an afternoon at clubindigo which is actually the old Club Med in Montrouis.


We had snacks, we played dominoes (our new favorite game), we swam in the pool, we walked on the beach, we walked around the property and then we ate a yummy dinner with everything from roast beef and shrimp to the tastiest chocolate (with real chocolate) and almond pie ever! Oh, and there was flan! Yes, we got excited about dessert.


We came home feeling lazy and relaxed. It was perfect.

We have 8 people arriving this afternoon for the Implementer’s Workshop. They’ll be here for two days. I’m looking forward to seeing everyone and visiting. I’m also looking forward to having everyone leave and getting a week of down time. I’m tired and I haven’t been sleeping well which makes it harder to be enthusiastic about things around here. I need some time to collect myself and move out of “training mode” and get ready for “visitor” mode for next weekend. Between now and Tuesday night not only do I need to sit in on the workshop, I need to make a grocery list and get planned for our day in Port on Wednesday when we take Diana to the airport and do errands. Port is bad enough on a good day. We’re leaving at 5:30 am. We’ll be tired. I’m already preparing myself for how unfun it’s going to be.

I’ve been thinking about blogging a lot in the last week or so. I’m going to be honest, there are some days/weeks where I don’t want to write, but feel like I need to because I’ll lose people. When I started writing this thing it was just to have a place to brain dump, and because I was still pretty fresh on the ground here a lot of that dumping ended up being about Haiti specifically. A lot of people have linked here from other blogs or from the mission website, which is very cool. I’m happy that you enjoy reading :) Sometimes I do feel pressured though to talk about Haiti all the time. Truth is, I don’t want to always talk about Haiti. I live here. Life happens here, but not all of my life or interests revolve around this place.

Take for example, if I was still living in Armstrong back in BC. Would I always want to mention the goings on of living there? Nope. It’s just not that exciting. I sometimes feel the same about living here. Because it’s been almost two years the novelty has worn off a fair bit. I’m not saying there aren’t exciting, interesting things to talk about – there are. I just don’t want that to be the only thing I talk about because there’s more to me as a person than the fact that I live here. There are things that are interesting to me outside of this place and it’s people and the daily going’s on. I know a lot of people read this because they want to know more about Haiti, which is very cool, but I don’t always feel like I’m giving you the best picture of it because let’s face it, with the work I do I spend a lot of time sitting at my desk.

I guess I’m telling you all of this because I’ve made some decisions about the blog. Those of you that are faithful followers and holding your breath waiting for me to tell you that it’s over can exhale. It’s not going to be shut down. No worries there. I’m still going to write because I like writing. I’ve just decided that since I was intending this to be about what was in my head and heart I’m going to work on sharing that more, and worry less about whether it has to do with Haiti. If this blog is about me and my life here, then I feel like I need to write more about all of me, and all of my life here. The things I think are fun or interesting or maddening or sad – all of it, even if it has nothing to do with this place.

Some of you may be less interested than before. That’s fine. I can’t please everyone. Some of you may end up being more interested. I don’t know. Heck, you may be introduced to new things and learn something you didn’t expect to learn. Only time will tell :)

This entry was posted in this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

One thought on “How to Properly Waste A Saturday

  1. Amen!!!!!!I love your blog. I love that you are a great couple, building your lives together in a place called Haiti (which is a country that has become dear to my heart).Stick to your truth. Kudos from Illinois!!!!P.S. I’m a crafter wanna be so I love reading your crafty ideas :)

Leave a Comment

