Why Going Away Isn’t Fun

There is a sick version of Murphy’s Law that seems to kick into effect here – always about two weeks before we want to leave for vacation. It’s always like this. I have no idea why. I mean, seriously, we’re already exhausted, can’t we just get through the last couple weeks on auto pilot? Please?!

Leaving is already stressful enough, having to deal with BIG stuff right before is NOT FUN! Sigh.

We have one week until we have a team of four coming in, so our plan was to use that time to rest, paint the beams and floor upstairs, then move our room up there. We are still doing that. That plan hasn’t changed. At least not today. I should stop talking about it because it might fall through at any second.

Yesterday night I got an email from the volunteer that was going to be coming in October. Plans have changed. He’s not coming now. His reasons are very valid and very good. I can be okay with it. I’m just sad. We both are because we were really looking forward to having him here. :(

This morning we got an email from our friend that was planning on looking after the mission for us while we’re away. Some stuff has come up and she’s not sure what’s happening now. This is probably what I would call “The Big Daddy” of unwanted things. It is never a good idea for us to leave the mission without anyone here. There will be problems. We are trying to stay positive and hope that things will work out in the end, but we are also putting our heads together and coming up with a plan. The most comforting thing about all of it was when Chris said, “Don’t worry, we ARE leaving – we will be taking our vacation!” I don’t think I could have dealt with anything else without turning into a bawling mess today. I’m tired which leads to being over emotional…you get the picture.

This afternoon I was working on my computer and noticed that even though it was plugged in it was running on battery. It did this the other day but after some unplugging and re-plugging of things it was working again so I didn’t think much of it. Today, however, is a different day and the plugging and un-plugging resulted in nothing. Nada. I had approximately two seconds of power left when I realized that I hadn’t backed up our master office files in about a month meaning that neither of us would have access to any of it. I witnessed a “loaves and fishes” thing this afternoon as the silly thing managed to stay alive long enough to get the whole file on the back up hard drive, then die. While I was mentally going through all the things I can’t get done before we leave because things are stashed on the lappy Chris was ordering a new battery. We’re crossing our fingers that it’ll be meeting us in Seattle. I’m trying not to feel frustrated about the inconvenience and am reminding myself about the fact that I got the most important stuff off and the rest will just have to wait until later. That’s all I can do. My hands are tied.

Jabez (our lovable chen/doggie) has had some more “leaking” problems. Chris phoned a vet friend of ours. Could be kidney stones. Could be a pinched nerve. Could be any number of things. We don’t know. We do know it’s not right. Sigh.

I think that’s all I have the energy for right now. Sorry that it’s not happy and cheery. It’s real though and we’re feeling a bit winded right now. We would love your prayers. If you want to get really specific, here’s how:

  • Pray for a plan to formulate for our departure where everything and everyone is taken care of. This means money is in the right hands to keep things running, our staff stay on task and the mission is protected by a big hedge of angels so that we can rest and feel at ease about things.
  • Pray for our friend and the reasons why she’s in a position of not knowing what the next two weeks will mean as far as her plans for being here. We don’t know all the details, and we’re trusting that whatever is best for her and for us will work out.
  • Pray for our personal health. We are tired, and today feeling discouraged. It’s hard to be optimistic when you feel dumped on. We need to get some good rest in the next few days so we can tackle the things that still need our attention before we leave.
  • Pray for our holiday – that we’ll actually get a good one because we really need it right now.

That’s it. I’m going to go take a nap or something I think.

This entry was posted in this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

One thought on “Why Going Away Isn’t Fun

Leave a Comment

