Off and On

I’m writing at the dining room table on the spare computer again because my charger is having a “moment” and there’s a skink (I think that’s what they’re called) lizard literally draping himself on the stair outside in his attempts to get a tan. Pretty funny. Maybe I should go join him. Last time I went home my granddad looked at me and said, “I thought you lived in the Caribbean. You look pasty.” Yeah, thanks. :)

Yesterday was a good day! I woke up feeling like I had actually slept, not completely exhausted like the last month or so. I forgot what it felt like to have energy.

We had Thony and Kelele in the house yesterday to paint the beams in the loft. I started Friday and quickly realized that there was no way I was going to get the whole thing done on my own within a reasonable amount of time. And, in my efforts to not feel like I have to do everything on my own I asked for help. I finished off one section of it so we could push everything under that part of the roof and leave the rest of the room free to be painted. It took the guys all day to do it, but it’s done. It already makes a huge difference as far as light etc goes. The rest of the house looks so dark now. It was fun to see the light from the windows bouncing off the floor and other parts of the roof – something that’s never happened before.

Because it was early afternoon when the guys finished we decided the best plan of attack for painting the floor was to do half of it, let it dry, then move all of the stuff over to the painted half and paint the remaining part rather than move everything out etc. I opened the first can of what was supposed to be “Off White” to find something closer to butter yellow. After a “Chris…you need to come here…” we decided that it was fine and we’d go ahead. I was sort of aiming for more of a North American “Off White” or cream color like the tiles downstairs and had wondered to myself in the store why there was Ivory and Off White. Now I know. It will actually look fine when it’s finished and yesterday made the room look sunny and cozy. Good thing we like color :)

I don’t have any pictures yet but will take some “afters” when it’s all done since people seem to like my little project posts. I have to do the 2nd coat of the first section today because it’s been so long since the floor was treated with anything that it soaked the paint up like a sponge, then tomorrow finish the rest, 2nd coat that on Tuesday and Wednesday is moving day! Yay. Can’t wait :) It was so hot last night I had to shower off at about 3 am just so I could sleep. Not fun at all.

Okay, Chris and I have a date with Jack Bauer.

This entry was posted in randomness by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

