The Art of Packing

We’re at T-1. I actually started packing last night and have most of my clothes in bags. It’s just the bits and pieces now. Chris is starting his packing. Conversation being yelled through our house right now (we have cement walls, sometimes yelling is necessary):

C: “Does deodorant count as a liquid?”
L: “Um, I don’t know…” (For the record, it’s gel so I can see the confusion – heck, what do they classify it as? Anyone?)
C: “Oh wait, it’s 3 oz. It’s fine.”

**This is where I need to interject the incident at the Port au Prince airport in October, after telling Chris that we were only allowed to take a ziploc bag with 3 oz. containers of shampoo, toothpaste etc in our carry on. He got stopped by security and the guard checked his bag and found a LARGE sized tube of toothpaste. Chris said, “But I know there’s less than 3 oz. in there!” The guy reminded Chris that the rules are the rules, at which point my husband took the tube of toothpaste, took the cap off, pointed it at the guard and said, “What am I gonna do, hold up the plane with this??” At that point, while I’m standing there preparing myself for who knows what, the guard just laughed and said, “Hey man, I don’t make the rules, I just enforce them,” and took the toothpaste. I think a lesson was learned :)

Chris tells me that I always over pack. It’s true. I go through this dilemma every time we leave – I want to pack for every possible situation that might occur. I can’t help it. I’m a planner/organizer and I like to be prepared. Heck, when we go on vacation go from the Caribbean and land in Seattle, then drive to Canada. That’s three countries and three different climates! This time I have forced myself to restrain and in about 20 minutes I had all my clothes packed. Chris, being male, of course looked at my suitcases and reminded me that we’re going camping. Yes, I know. But we will also be spending time in civilization and I don’t want to look like a grub. I don’t think one pair of jeans, 4 t-shirts, 5 tank tops and 3 pairs of shorts is too much. I think it’s just right for a month away. AND, this is the most impressive – I’ve figured out I can get through the next month with JUST 3 pairs of shoes, one of which is the Betty Boop style heels for the weddings. Ah, the beauty of traveling in the summer :)

I feel all proud of myself for being tricky and planning what I’ll need until we arrive at Mom and Dad’s on Friday so I can just live out of my carry on until then. Chris will of course just live out of his carry on period. But, I remind you – he is a boy. These things are possible for boys.

The plan is that we will leave for Port after we finish work today to spend the night with friends. Then they’ll take us to the airport tomorrow morning and we’re outta here! Can’t wait. My mom is counting sleeps and I’m looking forward to sitting down to dinner with everyone on Friday evening. Chris is looking forward to being reunited with his van. They have a special relationship and always need at least 24 hours together before they hit the road. That’ll be Thursday. I’ll find something to do while they bond.

So, I think that’s it. I’m going to sign off for now. The blog may be quiet for a while, possibly a couple weeks, depending on whether I get time to post when we get to Mom and Dads. We have a wedding and a board meeting over the weekend, then Monday we’re heading out into the wilds of BC to camp for two weeks where there is absolutely no internet connection. FUN!

Until next time!
~Leslie

This entry was posted in this is life, travels and adventures by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

One thought on “The Art of Packing

  1. Hey Leslie I hope you and Chris have a great time on vacation. I know your mom is looking forward to seeing you. For the record, I don’t think you’ve overpacked :) Have fun and safe flying. I hope the van runs well for you guy.Kelly

Leave a Comment

