Back On the Map

We’re back in civilization. Actually have been since Monday, but blogging time and desire has been lacking from this one :( Sorry.

We’ve had fun so far on our wee break. Spent two weeks in the wilds of BC adventuring up logging roads and seeing all sorts of wonderful things. I don’t think we’ll ever get tired of this place. How could we?

On the wildlife end of things this is what’s crossed our path…
-4 black bears
-3 deer
-2 beavers
-1000’s of spawning Kokanee salmon
-many very cheeky trout that didn’t want to come for dinner, and 4 that did ;)

My parents met us at Trout Lake for the long weekend and we had a really fun family time together camping and fishing. It’s so good to laugh! It was fun to have more time together where they could get to know Chris more and vice versa too.

This week is full of shopping and visiting. It’s hard to try and cram everyone into a 4 day period when you don’t know when you’ll see them again. Yesterday Mom and I spent a “ladies” day window shopping for baby stuff. That was a good time, but also drove home the fact that we are in fact going to be parents at some point in the next year. Crazy! It’s fun to see her enthusiasm at becoming a grandma :)

My head is still kind of swimming with this North America thing – the availability of so much whenever you want it. I’m finding I’m a more purposeful shopper now and as much as it’s entertaining to see what’s available I find myself looking around and thinking things like, “You let your children walk around wearing that?!?” and “Do you seriously think I’m going to pay that for _____? HA!” It’s bizarre and I’m realizing that I’m changed for good now. That happens when you’re used to seeing people with nothing. We really are excessive here in good ol’ NA.

Well, time’s up – off to the next slotted activity/appointment. We need to take the VW to spend some quality time with our friend Chris while we attempt to get prescriptions filled, passport applications filled out and signed and some adoption stuff taken care of. Woo hoo!

Oh, have I mentioned that all this “holidaying” has only afforded me one sleep in morning, the entire time we’ve been away! Sigh. I think I’m going to need to go back to Haiti so I can get some rest. Either that or send Chris back where he can continue to get up at 6:30 am on the dot and I’ll stay here for a week just to sleep.

Cheers!
Leslie

This entry was posted in travels and adventures by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

5 thoughts on “Back On the Map

  1. welcome back to “civilization!” I pray that you can get all you need to get accomplished while you are still here & that somewhere in all this, you can find a day or two to sleep in!!

  2. Hi Leslie.I got your note today!!! What a treat! I couldn’t figure out who was sending me something from CANADA?? It was so fun getting your card.Your trip sounds beautiful!!!!You really saw Black Bears? In person????

  3. hey! we got your card today too, such a cute picture of you both!! Wonder why the Livesay’s don’t send out prayer cards to their blog stalkers???hint hint hint. hugs amy h.

Leave a Comment

