Totally Tasty Fish Cakes

Last night I was attempting to de-bone the fish we had before cooking it, at which point it just started mashing in my hands. What to do? I decided that rather than fight it I would go with it and that I would make fish cakes. Never done it before so I found a recipe to start from in a cook book. Here’s what I came up with…

Ingredients (makes about 8-10 good sized fish cakes):

1 1/2 c. crumbled or mashed fish, cooked (you can do this in the microwave in minutes)
1/2 onion, finely chopped
1 1/2 c. mashed potatoes
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp seasoning salt
1 tbsp + parsley
hard margarine for frying (butter burns too quickly)

Instructions:

Combine fish and onion in a good sized mixing bowl. Set aside to combine flavors for about 15 minutes. Add mashed potatoes, salt, seasoning salt and parsley. Stir together until well combined.

Heat a large frying pan and melt a good amount of margarine, about 2 teaspoons. Scoop a large handful of mixture and roll in hand until outside is smooth, then flatten into a patty. Cook in frying pan for about 4-5 minutes each side or until heated through and browned on outside. You may need to add more margarine through the cooking process.

You can probably use most fish with this. The recipe didn’t specify anything. I used a white “mystery” fish that we bought the other night. These also store in the fridge and reheat well.

This entry was posted in randomness by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

3 thoughts on “Totally Tasty Fish Cakes

  1. Hi Leslie, I have a recipe very similar to that and we love it. It also has a recipe for a sauce with it using cream of mushroom soup, 1/4 can milk, and 1/2 cup grated cheese. Heat until the cheese melts and put it over the fish patties (cakes). Good stuff.Amy

Leave a Comment

