October 12

It’s Friday already…wow.

We seem to be having a bit of a slow morning here in Pierre Payen. The sun is out, but it’s not hot yet. A little while ago it was peeking through the window behind my head and made this beautiful shadow thingy on my computer screen. I like the way my computer keys feel this morning too. Some days they just feel good and I want to type a lot.

Our plans for this weekend are to lay low a bit I think. Tomorrow is officially the last Saturday of freedom for the next month and a half. We have Vision Trips starting next weekend and from there will be making a trip to Port every Saturday to either pick up, drop off, or both. The good thing is that the second to last trip will involve a VT drop off and a Mom & Dad pick up. Super excited about that one! It’s my parents first visit to Haiti and the first time they’ll be at “my” house for dinner etc, etc.

Yesterday Chris went to Port to do a few things and pick up some missionary friends of ours that were coming back after a good break. There was a big rain the other night in Cabaret and because of it there was major flooding at one of the main rivers. It caused a lot of damage and devastation. If you want to see pictures and get more info visit Rusty & Cheryl’s blog.

While Chris was away I took advantage of the Leslie time and did some baking and ordered birthday and Christmas presents when I didn’t have eyes peeking over my shoulders. Do you know how hard it is to do Christmas/birthday shopping when your house is only about 900 sq feet, you’re both home all the time and there are only two rooms in the entire house with doors and walls – neither of which are an office? Sigh. Chris has this pacing problem too. When he’s either bored or thinking he paces. Our house is round. He paces circles, and always right behind my desk. It drives me CRAZY and I often loose it and tell him to go outside or somewhere that isn’t where I’m trying to work.

Anyway, yesterday I started to get some baking for the upcoming teams done too. I figured I could do cookies, muffins and brownies now and then divide them and put them in the freezer so I have easy access. My only problem is that the brownies didn’t really come out “brownie like”. They’re super tasty, but they completely fall apart in the pan. I literally took a whole cookie sheet out to the guys yesterday and let them eat them. I think the rest will get turned into some sort of “cookies and cream” trifle/pudding thing this weekend. I get really frustrated with the whole baking thing here because nothing seems to turn out the way it does back home. First off, we’re right at sea level and I haven’t figured out how to account for that. Second, we have a gas stove, and there is no temperature marker on the oven – I just light it, then hope for the best. I do have a thermometer in there and it helps a bit. Third, the flour here is heavy and I forget to put more baking powder in sometimes. Oops. I’m going to try again today and see how things go. It’s a good day for baking. I’ve pretty much got everything else done so I can “putter”.
Have a great weekend!

~Leslie

This entry was posted in this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

