Things That Make Living Here Enjoyable

I had some pleasant little moments today that I thought I would share. The first is for those of you that like the garden updates. Today I was doing a wander around and was totally stunned to find this pretty little yellow flower showing its face, with another not too far behind it. This was planted in the flower bed around the house project earlier this year. I would, just for the record, like to let you know that my husband has on more than one occasion told me that I will never get flowers growing this close to the ocean. Pllllaaaaahhhh! That, is to you Mr. Naysayer ;) (Of course I dragged him outside to rub it in. What kind of a wife would I be if I didn’t??!)

I think it’s a variety of day lily but I’m not sure.

The flower bed by the side of the house. Things are starting to fill in. I love the curly ginger. Can’t wait to see if it actually blooms.

I love sea days like this, when the water is too many shades of blue and aqua to count. Mmmm. So pretty.

The sun peeking onto the corner of the patio. I love that my ferns are starting to get bigger. It’s one plant I’ve always loved and could never get growing in Canada.

My lilies. The stained glass pot is a peace lily and the other one is a white lily that reminds me of fireworks when it blooms – long and explosive looking.

Judy, the lady that gave me this plant, calls it a “shrimp” plant. This was looking a bit scragly for a while and I wasn’t sure if it was going to make it but it’s filling in really well now and starting to flower again.

My pretty fabrics on the line. I washed them today to get the sizing out and now I’m itching to start turning them into things. There’s a couple skirts in there, a couple tops I think, some baby clothes and a baby sling. I get giddy thinking about it…

I tried the brownies again today, and SAME problem. They taste amazing, but I CAN’T GET THEM OUT OF THE PAN!! Argh. I know I’m not an inept kitchen type. I have made brownies before! I’m blaming the oven and the fact that it goes from normal to HOT without giving me warning. And, I don’t think I greased the pan enough. So, this weekend I’m refusing to cook anything until the brownies are all gone! That is, if we can get them out of the pan.
This entry was posted in this is haiti, this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

5 thoughts on “Things That Make Living Here Enjoyable

  1. I stumbled on your blog though Dr. Jen’s site. (I’m a friend of Jen’s from Minnesota and I’ve been to Haiti many times with Providence Ministries.) I absolutely love your photographic eye, your honest and balanced picture of life in Haiti, your sense of humor, and your heart for ministry. I hope I get to meet you some day. I’m actually visiting in a week and a half, but I kind of doubt that we’ll meet then. Too much agenda…too little time. Anyway, bless you a ton!

  2. I just noticed the change on the top of your blog … the Poisonwood Bible quote … has it been there long? I usually read my blogs on Bloglines so I don’t see the actual blog header there.I LOVE that book. :-)Thanks for your help with the prayer card for next weekend, we are using one with dark ink — outdoor pose.Hugs and missing Haiti a lot-tara and the tribe

  3. Hi Terri! Thanks for stumbling over here, and thanks for your sweet comments and encouragement. Hopefully I’ll get to meet you on one of your future trips. We’re going to drag Jen out here sometime next month :) Have fun on your little adventures with her!Tara – the quote has been there for a while. I LOVE the book too. I read it after living here for a few months and felt like they could have put “Haiti” in everywhere that it said “Africa”. Amazing. I want to read it… Hugs to you guys.

  4. Love the plant update. I think it is great that you are finding out the names of the plants. Our new place will have almost all plants indigenous to our area. I am lost with the names and sure hope we get flowers because I love flowers. We just found out that the entire area behind us will be burned next year because that is what is natural and will keep it natural. I think I will cry to see the beautiful flowers and grasses all burnt away. The shrimp plant looks delicate, I wonder what it is? Perhaps you can propogate it? I think the fabrics on the clothes line are just like a new box of crayons. So full of promise. I too love to have a separate sewing area, I used to take over the dining room 10 months of the year. Have a wonderful time with your vision group. Hugs Barb J :)

Leave a Comment

