Sunday Stuff

Things in computer land have been less than ideal. First off – yesterday I went to do my daily blog stalking and something ATE my bookmark list. The entire thing was gone. G-O-N-E! I need to mention the fact that I had a list of about 5 billion sites on there. Okay, slight exaggeration, but there were A LOT. The point of a bookmark list is so that you don’t have to remember any of that stuff. Now, guess where I’m stuck…sigh. Also, our connection for the last two days has been anything but stellar. It seems that we have the stupid internet service where if you’re using up bandwidth to download they cut you off. Chris has been downloading “The Yellow Submarine” because I haven’t seen it yet. Boooo to Direcway! It is up and running now, but there was some serious slowness happening there and I was getting all freaky because I felt out of touch. Ask Chris, not having a computer/internet/way of contacting the outside world is the thing that pushes me over the edge here. Completely. It is the straw. It’s sad.

Yesterday I did something I’ve been itching to do for a very long time. Very, very long time. I spent most of the day sewing! Woo hoo. I moved a table upstairs the other day into our super gigantic bedroom and set up my little sewing corner. I now have some “Leslie” space where I can just work. It’s so sweet. I’ve missed that soooo much. I was starting to have what they call sewing paralysis where I knew that if I didn’t start using some of my material that I spent hours searching for online soon, I would never do anything with it. See, the fear is that because it’s so pretty, and because it’s so hard to get here, that if you try to use it and screw up, you’re done. Can’t do a redo. Can’t run out to the fabric store and get more. Might as well just flush the cash down the toilet. So, I dove in and from the pretties that were hanging on the clothes line I created these:

The skirt is super comfy and breezy. It’s this African batik fabric that I bought on Ebay. Perfect weight for Haiti. I had to make my own pattern because I didn’t get a chance to go through my pattern stash back in Canada to find my skirt patterns. Skirts are pretty basic though once you know what you’re doing.

The baby sling* is what I’m really excited about. I found the pattern online on Karma Baby. It was super easy to make. I was a bit confused about the French seam, but I Googled that and found this site that has a really easy tutorial. I love the fabric. I also found that online, and because it wasn’t decorator weight, or a bit heavier, as the pattern recommends I doubled it – essentially sewed a tube, turned it right side out and pressed down the edges – then did everything as the instructions described. When it came to doing the finishing seams on the edges I just did a top stitch rather than folding over because it was already turned and the seam was concealed. Like I said, really easy and if it wasn’t for the problems that I had with the machine (now that would be a whole other post on it’s own!) I think I could have whipped this bad boy up in about an hour and a half from cutting out to finishing up. This was a fun project and makes me want to use it right away. Waaaahhh for having to wait! It also makes me want to make more. Too bad I only need one.

We had friends over to visit this afternoon and other than that it’s been a pretty laid back weekend. Sewing, being creative, reading and napping for some…

A certain someone doesn’t read the blog all that often which I always find kind of funny because he thinks it’s cool enough to recommend to A LOT of people. Ha! Now you can all tell him what a cutie pie he is :)

Hope the beginning of your week is good. We’ll be spending this week prepping for our first Vision Trippers that arrive on Saturday! Woo hoo! From there it’s going to be a month of madness and business.

~Leslie

*I would just like to state for the record that this is not my favorite picture of myself. I don’t find it flattering. It’s hard to take a flattering picture when your goon of a husband is telling you to look “adoringly” at the balls of yarn in the sling. They’re balls of yarn! Try me again in a few months when there might be something worth looking at adoringly. Until then you get this.

This entry was posted in this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

6 thoughts on “Sunday Stuff

  1. Wow – great job! I love the skirt (gorgeous fabric!) & the sling! Can’t wait to see you using the sling with something other than yarn in it! Maybe I will have to hire you to make me a sling (or two – they are so cute!) eventually when I need them!! Hope that everything goes well with your vision trip!

  2. Oh yeah! Eat your heart out Tyra!Actually, I like Tyra. Especially when she totally attacked the lame people that called her fat because she’d put on a few pounds. She rocks!

  3. You look is open and sweet in that photo Les. It is a lovely photo, Chris captures your beauty. One can only imagine when you have a wriggling little bundle in there rather than yarn. The shirt is super, just the right length for you. Is it a faux wrap?Barb J

  4. someone attacked tyra banks for being fat? i’m pretty sure that’s the seventh seal of the apocolypse. look out for stars falling from the sky and the moon turning to blood. i like the batik stuff and i think you look fabulous. very chic.

  5. I am SO jealous of your sewing ability…my mom always told me I’d regret not learning how to sew someday, and guess what, mom’s are usually right!I love the skirt and baby sling!!

Leave a Comment

