It’s Monday and I Haven’t Got a Creative Title

Would you believe I almost forgot how to sign in this morning? Sigh. Sorry the blog has been so quiet. There wasn’t much time to sit in front of my computer last week, and on the weekend we basically crashed.

The week with Peter and Paul was great. It made me realize just how much work we’ve done in the last year and a half and what a different place we’re in now. They had a really good visit, got to see what we do, saw the area and overall just had a good time. Thursday is the day Yonese comes in to work and go to the market for us so I asked her to cook Haitian that night. Friday we had some people stop by that are interested in starting a filter program in another part of the country and we had a good visit with them. That night Paul treated us out to dinner at Club Indigo, along with Pere Michelin, a priest he’s worked with up in Port Margot. We had a nice evening out. My Creole is getting really good. There are still a lot of things I don’t know, but I’m getting really conversational and my grammar is getting better. That was exciting to see.

Chris took the guys to the airport early Saturday morning, and I decided to stay home and enjoy a few hours to myself. I turned on some music and cleaned. It was great. I always get more done when I’m on my own in the house. And, after things have been really busy I need to clean and get things back to some sense of order before I can really unwind. I got most of the house tidied and cleaned and got the spare room cleaned up. Val, who worked here for almost a year, is coming in on Tuesday for a two week visit. She’ll spend the first few days with us, then move on to see other friends on Saturday when our group arrives. After she leaves I just need to change sheets and do a quick sweep and mop and the room and it’ll be ready for Mom and Dad.

Thursday and Friday are holidays here – All Saints Day and Day of the Dead, respectively. Aside from Carnival it’s the biggest holiday weekend of the year. We’re excited that we get two days off before people arrive. I’m trying to work ahead and get everything done so we can enjoy visiting with Val and our other friends that will be coming out to the area for the weekend. Today will be cleaning the dorms. The small side just needs a tidy, but the big side is a mess. We need to redo the roof, but that’s a project for next year that’s in the planning stages. Because it hasn’t been used in a while it needs a good, thorough cleaning.

Yesterday morning Chris and I got up early (read: 6 am on a Sunday!) and went for a hike up to Kay Pyat. It’s this little community that is built around a fresh water source. The source has been dammed a bit and there are pipes that run down to a power plant. The rest of it has been canaled and use for agriculture, mostly growing water cress. It’s really fascinating to see, and beautiful because it’s so green. It was a perfect hiking day because it was overcast and cool. I realized that I would enjoy hiking a lot more if we had more days like that. I just get annoyed with being so hot and sweaty. I’ve been up to Kay Pyat a few times, and every time I get to see an improvement in my health. The first time I went up two years ago was HARD. Yesterday I was ahead of Chris most of the time and only stopped a few times for a quick drink and to look around. Chris said I almost ran up the mountain. It was FUN. And a nice treat. We hiked up the canal path and came back down on the “road” which you can’t actually drive up anymore. I hadn’t gone that way before so it was fun to see something different.

We’re supposed to get hit with a decent sized storm. Usually they pass right by, but this one is looking like it’s going to go right over us. It got really cool yesterday afternoon, and this morning it was looking like it was going to clear, but now it’s getting overcast agian and it’s quite cool. I LOVE it. It’s such a nice change from the HOT weather. The only bad thing about a storm like this is that it means flooding for parts of the island. It’s kind of unavoidable.

That’s the news from here for today. Not sure how much I’ll be blogging over the next couple of weeks with people coming and going, but I’ll try.

Happy Monday!
~Leslie

This entry was posted in this is haiti, this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

