Sleepless In Haiti

Okay, to continue on with yesterday’s theme…I’m freakin’ tired!

Chris started feeling “off” a couple days ago. It’s malaria. He’s taking chloroquine. It doesn’t seem to be helping all that much. We’re thinking that he’s built up a bit of a resistance to it but maybe this round is just taking longer.

Chris doesn’t react well to chloroquine. He does better with another drug, but after a visit to the hospital pharmacy down the road we turned up with nothing. There’s a chance he could get some Quinine today. We’ll see.

Sleeping with someone who has a fever, who gets up in the middle of the night because he can’t sleep, and who has crazy dreams is not good for this already exhausted, over tired, and cranky girl. I have the hardest time being compassionate when I’m sleep deprived. I’ve always been an 8 hour a night girl.

Our guests are being wonderful and told us at breakfast that they’ve made the executive decision that they’re going to be low maintenance today. They’ll keep themselves occupied with painting some filters, going for a walk in the neighborhood and just chilling out. They are such a blessing to us!

I’ve had my chance to whine now. I’m going to go clean up the breakfast stuff, attack my final “to do” list to get things ready for Mom and Dad, then I’m going to go take care of myself a bit and have a nap.

Please keep us in your prayers over the next couple days as we try to switch gears and deal with Malaria Boy.

This entry was posted in this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

2 thoughts on “Sleepless In Haiti

  1. Leslie,I know you don’t even have a clue who I am, but I want to tell you, I’ve been following you and Chris through your blog. I will say an extra prayer for both of you today. Vicki

  2. Sorry to hear Chris has Malaria. I hope he is feeling a bit better by the time your folks come. You both are in my prayers, Chris for healing and you for strength Les. I lived next door to Chris when he first had Malaria in 2002. Chloroquine in treatment doses makes him wonky. It is hard to be sick and wonky too. I am glad to hear you are getting your rest when you can Les. I will keep you in prayer.Blessings Barb J

Leave a Comment

