Time for Some News

Okay, of course the most exciting thing to share is that the folks are here! Woo hoo! They arrived Saturday morning and came out of the airport smiling even though they didn’t have any of their bags with them. They had to take four flights to get here and they were late arriving on one so the connection was too close in LA. No worries though because everything came through on the next flight in from Miami and the few hours in between was enough time for us to get all of our errands done and to have some lunch.

As promised their luggage was full of goodies for us! My sewing machine is now here and traveled well. I’m so excited about that. We have a car seat and a bunch of other basics. Between what they brought and what I was able to have brought in for us last week we now have diapers for about 4 months! That’ll be a big money saver.

My Granny sent two baby blankets that she just “whipped up” as she said. My Gran is a quilter and years ago started making quilts for all the grandkids to get when we got married or turned 30, whichever came first. Then she moved on to her kids, and then great grandkids. Because we live in the tropics a heavy quilt didn’t make sense so we got two lighter flannel blankies.

Grandad told her they looked “girlie”. The man is 82. I don’t think I’ve ever heard him say anything like that before! We’re fine with “girlie” though :)

We spent most of the weekend just chilling out. Mom and Dad were exhausted from the trip and Chris and I were exhausted from three weeks of busyness. It was so nice to be able to do that. That’s one of the things I was looking forward to about having them here – just being able to relax. It’s much different with family than it is with other visitors – I don’t feel like we have to always be “on” or entertaining them. Yesterday Barb stopped by for a visit, then Mike and Marion, then Val so my parents got to meet some of the people they’ve been hearing about for the last two years.

Jabez is SOOO happy – she found a couple sofites ;)

Chris showing Mom and Dad how to eat fresh coconuts – from our trees of course!

Dad likes to “putter” so we have a few projects planned for him for the week. The first one was to fix our bathroom door. The house has shifted a bit over the last year or so, so he found a planer in the shop and took a bit off the one side. After that he fixed the door knob that hasn’t worked in over a year. What can I say? When a door doesn’t close all the way who needs the knob to actually turn? Dad had to yell for me to come and let him out of the bathroom when he put the door back on. It’s fixed now so no one need worry about being locked in forever.

Mom has a hard time sitting still sometimes but Chris and I are cool with that because the dishes have been washed after every meal, the house is getting swept and she felt bad for my plants so she watered them this morning. I think we’re going to have to retrain ourselves after this week because we’ll be slackers!

Thanks to all of you who have been praying for us and our health over the last few days. We weren’t sure if Chris would be able to make the trip in on Saturday but we both managed to get a decent nights sleep and he hasn’t had a fever since Friday so we’re happy. He’s still a bit tired and is having problems sleeping, but he’s on the mend.

This entry was posted in adoption, this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

5 thoughts on “Time for Some News

  1. So glad to hear that your parents arrived safely and also got to meet people they have only ever heard about! And how nice is it that you got to just relax & hang out with your parents this weekend! Those quilts are GORGEOUS and I am so glad that you got to have so much baby stuff flown it – that is a HUGE blessing and a big cost saver!Have a GREAT time with your folks and post a couple times if you can!!

  2. I am so happy for you. Parents are truly Gods gift! Next on the list are babies!Keep posting and telling us about your visit. I love the new pictures.Vicki

  3. So glad that Chris is feeling better and that you’re getting this time with your folks. It must be so difficult to be away from your familiar life for years on end. I hope your visit provides exactly what you need.

  4. Those are sure happy smiles in your photo. I am glad to see your parents at the base. Your Dad will have fun with all the fixem’s around. You’ll have to let us know what your mom thinks of how quickly plants grow and revive from a wilt there. Glad to hear the worst of the Malaria passed. I agree it is nice to have family around and just feel relaxed. I know I still sleep better if my kids are in the house. Those flannel quilts are beautiful, little treasures. Have fun. BlessingsBarb J :)

  5. your mom look great. I’m so happy that they are there and able to see how you live. Have lots of fun with them.Love ya Steph

Leave a Comment

