shrimp and surprises

Mom, Dad and I just got back from a relaxing afternoon at Moulin Sur Mer. The original plan was to go to Club Indigo – the old Club Med – but there was a special conference there and we couldn’t go in. The gate was UN guarded so my curiosity is of course peaked…sigh. The afternoon was good and relaxing. We were already planning on staying for dinner, but it seems whenever we go there we get targeted by this one really, really annoying and frustrating waiter. Today, I was tricky and managed to talk to one of the other waiters there earlier in the day and asked if he could serve us tonight because one of the other men “derange mwen” – annoys/frustrates/drives me crazy. The other said waiter started to figure this out as the afternoon/evening progressed. I tried not to make eye contact because doing so would be a blatant invitation for him to come and present himself and to provide us with “good service” as he so often likes to remind us. When it came time to sit down to dinner he sort of hovered around. THEN, I caught him standing across the room STARING at me. No exaggeration. It was direct, burn you with my retinas kind of staring. I don’t think he was pleased with me tonight. I, however, had a very pleasant evening.

Chris went to see Dr. Vic down the road at the Pierre Payen hospital this morning to get checked on. After several tests it was confirmed that he didn’t have malaria, but actually has a virus. Now we just get to wait it out. I learned something about fevers and that’s that your body, when it’s trying to fight a virus, produces a chemical (is that the right term for natural bodily fluid concoctions?). That chemical works better when it’s warm, so your body raises it’s body temperature to make that work, thus the fever. So, a fever is actually a good thing in many cases and just needs to run it’s course. Anywhoo…Chris just needs to rest and let himself get better. I was really happy to see him konk out for about 3 hours this afternoon.

Tomorrow morning we’re off to the airport, then we need to run some errands. Tomorrow is actually a big day for us. Something very, very exciting is happening. Something we’ve been looking forward to for a very long time. It will mean a new adventure for me that has me feeling slightly scared, but also thrilled. It will be something completely new for me in many ways. I’ve intentionally kept mum about this because Haiti has this nutty way of changing ANY plans that you might have. Any guesses???

This entry was posted in this is haiti, this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

6 thoughts on “shrimp and surprises

  1. Well, I could come up with guesses but since I am most likely wrong, I think it is easier just to let you know that it is not nice to tease your readers! I hope you post the answer SOON – like now?? I am glad that you & your folks had a nice relaxing day, I also am curious about what was going on at Club Indigo? Glad to hear that Chris doesn’t have malaria but a virus, will be praying that the virus passes quickly. And, in response to your teasing surprise – check out the great news I posted about tonight! Enjoy every moment you have with your parents until they leave tomorrow – it seems like the week flew by!

  2. Guesses? Something to do with the adoption? As far as changes in Haiti, my in-laws have been missionaries in Haiti for 24 years and now refer to things as “the change, subject to plan”.Amy

Leave a Comment

