The Big Reveal

The wait is over, it’s time for the big reveal…


Today, after dropping Mom and Dad off at the airport and doing a couple other errands Jean and I headed up to Safari Motors and bought the mission’s new truck.

I know, it’s not a baby. At least not the type of baby that you were hoping for. It is, however the mission’s new BABY.

The grant for this truck has been in process for about 2 and a half years. We hit a snag when we couldn’t actually get our hands on the type of truck specified in the grant. Digicel kept buying all of them. We got permission from Rotary to upgrade to a bigger, badder version – something we’re all very excited about because instead of hauling 20 filters like it’s smaller counterpart the bigger Daihatsu will haul about 35.

Why this was something completely new for me…

  • I have never had to go and pick up a brand new vehicle
  • I have never had to sign papers for a brand new vehicle
  • I have never had to wait for 4 hours for what was really about 30 minutes of paperwork and preparation was done
  • I have never rolled my eyes so much with Jean the entire time I have lived her

With Chris being sick it presented something else that was completely new for me. See, he knew yesterday that he was feeling so crummy that getting up and leaving for Port at 6 am was the last thing that he wanted to do – even if it meant not being there to get the much awaited truck. This left Jean and I to go do the deed. We prefer to take the VW into town because it’s much more comfortable than the other vehicles. My Dad also has a bad back so it was a given. Thing is, the VW is finiky and I have never driven it. So, if you do the math…two people, two trucks and only one of us is comfortable driving the VW…

Yep. Yours truly got to be the very first person to drive the BRAND SPANKIN NEW TRUCK. It was also Yours Truly’s first time ever driving in Port. Oh, and I haven’t mentioned what a freakin’ monster this thing is. The box alone is about 12 feet long, plus the cab. And, it’s wider than your standard cab. You can actually seat 4 people across it.

Something that feels really good:
Pulling into the driveway after a good, fast trip from town, clearing the fence posts with about 1 inch on either side and having the first words out of Jean’s mouth be an enthusiastic compliment on my stellar driving skills.

What can I say?!? My truck driving Dad taught me well in his version of ‘bootcamp’ where the very first thing that he made me do was back up. Back up the old beater Ford supercab (that’s the one with the extra seat) long box with the big mother spare tire on the front grill and the plywood sideboards on the box so I had no choice but to learn how to use my mirrors right away. Thanks Pappy ;)

There was actually a partially right guess submitted via email from Val who guessed that I would be driving out of town. I don’t know if it’s really fair because she was just here last week and I think knew about the truck, but not that I would be driving. And, last week we were just hoping that we would get to take it home today. Anyway, if there was a prize, you would have won it girlie!

This entry was posted in randomness by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

4 thoughts on “The Big Reveal

  1. Yeah for the new truck & being the first to drive it! I would not have guessed a new vehicle! I’m so happy for you guys & the mission! The new truck will be a real blessing and being able to carry 35 filters is a huge blessing! Your dad did an awesome job teaching you to drive! I drive a bus here and even with my commercial bus license, I wouldn’t want to drive a truck that size (or really any size) in Haiti! Way to go Leslie!!

  2. Leslie,You’re WAY braver than me. Driving in PaP is not on my “In this Lifetime” list….or should I say that it’s on my “Not in this Lifetime” list. :)

  3. I am WAY impressed that you drove that thing thru Port…not something I’ll ever be doing for sure. Hope Chris is getting better & you’re getting some sleep (as someone else who does NOT do well when sleep deprived, I hear ya…)

Leave a Comment

