I Have No Title For This Post…Sigh.

There hasn’t been much to be blogging about over the last few days. Because Chris has been sick we just had a quiet and restfull weekend. It was so nice! I hesitate to say this because every time we get excited things seem turn around again, BUT Chris is sitting next to me at his desk actually working! First time in about 3 weeks. I think he really is on the mend this time. That makes both of us happy because he has such a hard time being inactive for any period of time, let alone 3 weeks in bed. Thanks to all of you who have been praying for us over the past few weeks. It’s much appreciated.

Something funny happened on Friday, though Tara didn’t think it was all that funny at the time. Back in June I posted this. Well, last week Tara posted this! So, now I am actually the proud owner of the sweet little iPod Nano that my husband picked out for me and attempted to have here in Haiti for my birthday. Wahoo! Troy will bring it back in January with him. None of us are trusting the whole send it to someone and have them pass it on thing right now, especially not with Christmas coming. With our luck it would arrive at it’s destination one day after we left. Ack!

I know many of you read this because you want to hear more about Haiti. Sorry there hasn’t been much Haiti talk recently. I think that when we have visitors and more visitors the subject gets a bit old for us after a while. It’s not a bad thing. I’m sure I would feel the same way in Canada if visitors came to my home town and I visited the same things and talked about the same things and answered the same questions over and over for a month. Eventually I’ll have more “Haiti stuff” to share. Part of it is that because Chris has been so sick we haven’t even hardly been out. I have a bit, but it hasn’t been anything worth writing about. So, for a while you might just get general “life” stuff from me. I think that’s a good thing though because I feel like people often want to glamorize missionary life and most of the time there isn’t anything glamorous about it. It just is. We just get up in the morning, make coffee do our work, make dinner, read etc to entertain ourselves and it’s not that exciting. It actually all feels very normal if there is such a thing, we just do it in a different place.

On that note… I know I’ve said this before, but I have to say it again – I am so LOVING having my sewing machine here. I’ve wanted it for a long time, but it was never feasible for us to bring it because we always had so many other things to bring in. It’s been such a treat. I have to admit that I didn’t use it a lot back in Canada. Partly because I didn’t have a lot of time, and partly because I didn’t ever have a place where I could just spread myself out and work, leave it and come back to it when I had more time. With our super big bedroom upstairs I’ve got a little corner with a table where I can leave my machine set up and still have space to cut and pin and do sewing things. I got an ironing board two weeks ago and that’s been fun. No more having to clear the table off and press on a tea towel. In the last week when Chris was sick it was nice to be upstairs with him while he was in bed reading. It sort of gave us some time together where we could chat and be in the same room but both be entertained.

One of the things I was “puttering” with (that’s what I call playing with fabric and not really knowing what I was going to end up with until it was done) when I tool a break from some projects that I can’t talk about because they’re Christmas gifts was this…

I think it might become a Christmas ornament and that I might need to make a few more to hang around the house because they’re so stinking cute. We don’t put up a tree here because we got back to Canada or the US (this year it’s the US) to be with family for the holidays, but last year I put up some lights on the deck. Mom brought me some when they came, I just haven’t decided where to put them yet. I think they might go inside this year so we can enjoy them more. The snowflake was really easy and I was able to use some scraps and bits that I already had. When I make another one I’ll do a little tutorial with pictures so you can see how they come together. I think it would be so fun to give someone half a dozen of them as a little gift. Hmmm…

Being Canadian the whole Thanksgiving in November thing is still strange to me because we celebrate in October. The thing I like about US Thanksgiving is that it’s a very distinct kick off to the holiday season. In Canada people just sort of gradually get into things. My mom is a big decorating fan and has a whole bunch of stuff that comes out every year. In November she starts with snowmen and then at the beginning of December the Christmas stuff comes out. I always loved coming home from college for the holidays and walking in to see twinkle lights and to just feel cozy. I find that living here and having all the days look the same the marker of Thanksgiving helps get my brain into thinking that the holidays are coming. The truth is that I want to do a few things here to make it feel a bit Christmas-like before we leave in the middle of next month. Lindsey, one of my best friends, sent Chris and I a care package with Mom and Dad. I love Lindsey packages because she always sends really fun things. This was no exception. We got special hot chocolates, a holiday scented candle (read: cinnamon), a Christmas tree cookie cutter AND these fabulous cookie sprinkles. SO CUTE!

There’s red balls, clear sprinkles that look like frost, white snowflakes and green trees! I’m so itching to make tons and tons of cookies though I’m not sure who would eat them all! Maybe I’ll do it anyway and just start giving them away so I can get it out of my system :)

Well, I should go and get some work done. I’m doing a big revamp on some mission stuff this week. I like finally having the time to get to some of these things.

Happy Monday!
~Leslie

This entry was posted in this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

