12 Blessings

There are only 12 days left until Christmas. Yesterday God really reminded me how much he’s looking after us, all the time, and how much he wants to bless us. It’s often in ways that we don’t even expect, or we think are silly things to ask about, so we don’t.

12 We got an email with the shipping invoice from Rays of Hope for Haiti. They’re the organization that’s shipping our container of stuff that will be arriving in the next week or so, and ready for pick up after we get back. Doug, the guy in charge, in the email told Chris that he bought us a new dining room table and chairs and put it on the container, free of charge as a gift from them to us. Now, I need to explain the current dining room table and chairs. We have a table, yes. However, it wants to split in half every time you move it, so it literally takes two people, just so it doesn’t fall apart. The chairs. Well, the chairs are sad. We have one left of the two that were here when I arrived, and it’ basically just barely together. And it pinches your butt if you sit on it the wrong way. The very cool thing is that Doug knew Chris was wanting chairs, he didn’t know we needed a table too!

11 Also on the invoice, as a gift from Rays of Hope, it says that they have given us a set of pots and pans. This may seem silly, but I am so excited about this. All of the pots that I have are missing handles. At times I’ve thought that we should find something to replace them, but then tell myself that the pot itself is still fine and I just need to use a pot holder. I have, however gotten some warm fingers too many times to count. I don’t care if the pots are used and mis-matched when they get here – if they have handles I’ll be a very happy girl. I fell blessed that though I have never told anyone that it was something that I would LOVE, they decided to pass them on to us. See, God is so cool!

10 The shipping bill was several hundred dollars less than we expected it would be.

9 It’s so cool here right now I’m wearing jeans, a shirt and a zip up sweater. There’s an unseasonal tropical storm going by and we actually hat RAIN several times yesterday. It doesn’t look like it’s quite done either. This means that the dust will be kept down for a few days and things that normally wouldn’t have water at this time of the year do, and Haiti will be green for just a little longer. It’s also such a treat to be this cool. Last night we got to sleep all cuddled up under blankets. Yay!

8 God provided someone for me to talk to about some stuff that was stressing me out yesterday, just when I needed it. I love it when he does that, especially when I just realize that I am in fact stressed about something. It’s always nice to be able to get it off my chest.

7 My sewing machine. I know, I know, enough with the sewing machine already. It’s been such a gift to me though. I spent yesterday and Monday sewing my little heart out because I got ahead on all my other mission work and needed to get some Christmas gifts finished. It’s just such a great vent for me. I didn’t realize how much I needed that. Maybe I did, but I just didn’t know what to do about it. I feel so much more alive and like myself when I have something that I can use to just be creative and have fun with. And, I’ve been whipping up some pretty cool things. I’ll post pictures later.

6 Christmas cookies. Christmas cookies mean sharing. Sharing means having people to share with. I have to bake again today so I have some stuff to take to our friends party tomorrow night, and for the missionary meeting on Sunday.

5 I finally got all of my drivers license stuff finished and sent in to the office. I think. We’ll see if I’m in fact done.

4 We’re having a missionary meeting here on Sunday. It’s my turn to share and I decided I want to talk about Advent. This is a blessing because I have to work really hard to remember that Christmas is coming here and I miss going to church and hearing about the Advent season. Seems people are focusing on it less and less. I decided (because I can) that we’re going to just do a Christmas focus with everything – food, music, message etc because it’ll be our last get together before the holidays. I hope everyone enjoys a little merriment and a chance to stop and reflect on the season, even if it doesn’t look like Christmas as we might know it.

3 I feel blessed by the many things I’m learning through the adoption process. Already I see so many things! It’s going to be like that through the whole thing, but it’s a blessing to see how God is walking beside us, blessing us, challenging us and changing us through it.

2 My family. All of them. It’s so nice to know that even when we’re miles and miles apart they’re still there.

1 My husband. I love this guy so much. He’s a blessing to me every day and he constantly teaches me what it means to give. He makes me laugh. He does nice things for me. When I step back and look at us it sometimes makes me laugh, just because I remember all the conversations I had with friends before we ever got together, the ones where I would whine and complain because I had no idea what was going on. Now I look at us and all that is funny because it just feels so right. Chris is definitely my best friend and I love that we get to do life together.

This entry was posted in thinking out loud, this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

