Christmas Eve!

It’s Christmas Eve and it’s not snowy and bright, but it’s still the day before Christmas. It’s a bit of an adjustment, but it is what it is. I was talking to my family yesterday night and my brother was talking about having to dig out the driveway after they got a foot of snow the other day. :( Wish I could be in two places at once.

Yesterday Chris and I spoke in a church that was very cool. They meet in a brew pub before the pub opens in the morning. It was so nice to be back in a North American church. There were Christmas carols, the Advent readings and a good message about Christmas.

We came home in time to change and start greeting people at the family open house. It was a nice afternoon of visiting people but because Chris and I are generally on our own it was very overstimulating to have so many people around and by about 8:30 I was DONE. Chris and I turned in early.

Today has been a nice relaxing day. Chris’ sister’s boyfriend and his daughter arrived late last night so we spent the morning visiting with Aron and Maddison and playing with Arons Wii. Maddison kicked my butt in bowling. The kid is 5. As I type Chris and his brother are smack talking each other as they try to prove their manliness in the video game realm. I think Chris is winning. Yep, that’s my boy!

We took Zorro and Sophie, the family dogs, for a walk along the Columbia River this afternoon too. It was so nice to get out and stretch my legs and get some fresh air. We came home to an empty house as everyone else was off doing last minute shopping or other things so we had a bit of down time. Mum is getting the lamb ready for the oven and after dinner Mum, Dad, Chris and I will head off to church and then back home to hang out with the family.


This is the first time that I haven’t been home with my family for Christmas, and that missing them thing is starting to settle in, but I’m also enjoying spending time with my other family too. It’s interesting to see how they pass the season in comparison to how my family has always done things. One of the good things is that Mum & Dad R have free calling to Canada so I can call whenever I want :)

To all of you blog stalkers, I hope you have a wonderful and Merry Christmas with family and friends. And, in the midst of all the celebrations that you’ll remember why we celebrate at this time of year. It’s because of Christ, his coming, his death and his gift of salvation.

Merry Christmas!
This entry was posted in this is life, travels and adventures by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

2 thoughts on “Christmas Eve!

  1. Merry Christmas Leslie. (I way get the over-stimulation thing. Sometimes when I’m in situations like that the most inappropriate things start going through my head.) Love to you and yours!

Leave a Comment

