Gettin’ Crafty!

I was trying to post this for the last two days, but our internet has been sucky. It’s finally back up and running properly again so here goes…Ta da! These are some of the projects that I’ve been working on over the last couple months:


For Christmas I made something for all of the ladies in the family. Chris’ sisters got the purses/bags above and below.


I made the tote below for Chris’ Mum.


The place mats were for our sister in law who has these adorable square sushi dishes, so I made them to match.


I also made each of the ladies a rice bag that can get heated up or cooled down for whatever body aches and pains you have. The cover is removable and washable. Of course I had to make one for myself too…


My first crack at wee person clothes. The top was a bit finiky in places, but turned out super cute and will be a dress, then a shirt when she grows into it. The jeans had me giddy even though I broke two needles. They’re just super, super cute wide leg pants. LOVE them!

I made a day timer cover for myself so I can keep the thing from getting too bashed up. It was a first time for one of these and I didn’t have a pattern so there’s some things I would definitely do differently next time.


This was yesterday’s project (yes, I am still sick, but I get bursts of energy). I love how it turned out. I used two fat quarters of material because I couldn’t find it on the bolt and I LOVE it. The green, orange and blue were the colors that we had for our wedding and they’re still some of my faves. We don’t have many picture frames here so I thought this was a good solution and I’ve always wanted to make one. I think the whole thing cost me less than $8 to make.


And then there’s Elly. Elly has a story about how she came into existence. Or rather why. The obvious why is that she’ll be for the baby, but there’s more to it than that. I’ll save that for the next post because it’s a story all on it’s own. Anyway, she’s not very big, only about 7-8″ tall, foot to rump, totally soft and chewable, and totally washable. And she needed next to nothing for fabric. I love the blanket stitch that I used to attach her ears…sooo cute! And you can’t see it, but she has little hand stitched X’s for eyes.

I’m playing with how I post pictures. I wanted to mix things up a bit.

~Leslie

This entry was posted in crafty by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

8 thoughts on “Gettin’ Crafty!

  1. Leslie,The bags are beautiful! You’ve got talent girlfriend! I smiled when I saw the little jeans. Just like the little shorts I whipped up for my kids. Is there anyway for me to get some material to you? I have lots to share from my grandmother who is now in a nursing home. It’s all packed in boxes and I know I’ll never be able to use it all. How can I share it with you?

  2. Hey Les, Love the Liz bag, day planner cover, picture holder and Elly. The baby clothes are too cute!! You should start making and selling these things. I’d buy some.K

  3. I am so not good at girly things like sewing, cooking and gardening — but you have it covered! I’ll stick to kids. :)

  4. WOW – those things are awesome! That is total skill and I agree with K above – I’d buy any of those things! (And the baby sling you posted previously!!!)

  5. I love your gifts and other items you made! Your elephant Elly is sooo cute.What kind of machine do you have? It is doing a nice stitch and free hand embroidery there for you too! I tend to use big needles unless I am sewing on fine fabric. I also have some denim needles, rather, needles for denim. I guess a denim needle wouldn’t be much use would it? ;PLove and hugsBarb J

  6. Wow! You are really good at sewing. (And I KNOW ’cause I have been sewing since I was seven.) Are you creating a layette for your new daughter? I can’t wait to see her wardrobe.. Keep us all posted.Candis

Leave a Comment

