Answers to Your Questions

Hi All!

Apparently the crafty posts were a bit hit:) Glad you liked them. There were some questions that I thought I would take a few minutes to answer for you.

Would I ever sell the stuff I make? (and in turn make some sweet dough)
I would LOVE to make stuff to sell. I have one major problem though – Haiti has no reliable postal system. I don’t have fabric stores that I can go to like there are there. Most of the fabric that you find here is for school uniforms and suiting etc, not for fun crafty projects, which makes me very, very sad. Boo. Because of that I end up ordering what fabric I do get on Ebay and have it brought in for me, or I go shopping when we’re home. Luggage space is always a challenge though. Maybe one day I’ll be able to designate a good amount of space to fabric, but I doubt it’ll happen any time soon. The postal system thing also means that even if I could sell stuff online, I have no way of sending it out to people. People tend to get a bit grumpy when they don’t get things within 6 months of purchasing them. I have thought about getting a bunch of fabric, making a bunch of stuff – like bags – then taking them back with me and having someone do the sending out etc for me. That’s a thought, but for the future.

Have I been making the baby’s layette?
I’ve actually only made the one outfit that I showed you, but I have a list of stuff that I want to make and may do some sewing this weekend. The great thing about baby clothes is that they don’t need a lot of fabric, especially not summer clothes, so a yard of fabric can go a long way :) I have, as you’ve seen, done the curtains and the change table cover for the baby’s room. I also made crib bumpers that I haven’t shown off yet because I don’t think they’ll really photograph all that well. Essentially I took a solid white fabric, one that had a white gathered swirl of fabric sewn to it, and an eyelet and cut different sized rectangles, then sewed them together so it’s sort of a patchwork feel. I used the same print fabric on the curtains and the change mat for the ties so it brings it all together. Our crib is apparently white so I think it’ll be super cute, but very simple and versatile.

What kind of machine do I have?
I’m totally blessed with a sweet Janome. My mom is a faithful collector of shopping points and a few years ago she had enough from buying groceries that she could buy me a new sewing machine for my birthday. The machine, or so it said when we got it, was worth about $600. It’s such a treat to have it here and to have a machine that works so well. My mom taught me to sew when I was pretty young on her machine that she got for her high school grad gift if you can believe it. The machine is over 30 years old and still works great. My machine actually has an all metal body to it which I love because it’ll stand up to life here. And yes, it does do a beautiful stitch, though the “hand stitch” that was on Elly’s ears really was hand stitching, not done by the machine. Truth be told I forgot to sew the ears on before I stitched the body together, so I had to put them on after :)

Let me know if you have more questions. I’ll keep posting pictures of my projects when I have them. For now though, I’m off to do some cleaning. There’s something smelly in the house and I have to go hunt it down…

This entry was posted in crafty by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

4 thoughts on “Answers to Your Questions

  1. The funny smell here is usually something like potatoes gone bad. You may unfortunately have something more interesting to tell us about. I have heard of Janome, and I am happy you have a sturdy metal body on it. I have been on Viking for 28 years now and even gave Katy my first Viking machine that she uses now. I wish I had it back now because it was straightforward to use. What type of needles and such do you use? I have a good inventory of machine needles they just need to match the type you can use. The right needle can make your life simpler. If you tell me I betcha I know someone to carry them in. This about the smallest suitcase addition that I can think of. Seriously I have my own things plus my grandmas so my inventory is pretty good. Tell me what you could use. Keep posting your photos of your creations, they are fun to see and give me ideas about getting started sewing again myself. Um, once I unpack.Hugs Barb J :)

Leave a Comment

