Friday Bits and Pieces

I’m working on my second cup of coffee this morning. Man, coffee is so good.

I don’t feel that there’s much to update you on. Things here are just plugging away. I got my laundry folded the day after it was washed. This is a big accomplishment for me because usually it sits in the basket for most of the week. Sometimes right until the next weeks wash is ready. It’s this new thing I’m trying – staying on top of “chores” around the house rather than having one day where I do everything. I got this great new day timer from Costco that has a section for appointments, one for “Meals/Kitchen” and one for “House” so I can actually organize my to-do lists. Love it.

Enough about my day timer. As you can guess, no baby yet. I feel less outwardly impatient. It’s still there, down under the surface. I think there’s a level of indifference setting in. I want the baby, and I want her to come soon, but I’m kind of at this “meh” place. I know it’ll happen, and I know it’ll happen when it’s supposed to, and there isn’t much else I can do about all of that. I’m just trying to plug one day at a time and stay focused on what I have right in front of me. I’ve actually had a pretty busy week of work so that’s been good because some are very slow.

Today we have a friend stopping by to visit that we haven’t seen in months so that’ll be nice. He and his wife went to the states to have their third child. He and his father-in-law are responsible for the project that’s putting filters in all of the prisons in Haiti, and doing prison ministry along with it. They’re doing this in partnership with the UN which is pretty cool. Later we’re also going to go a visit some friends of ours for the evening. Yes, we’re social butterflies today.

We would love it if you would pray about something for us. We, after some crazy track down tactics and some cold calling to the US, were finally able to track down the guy in charge of the organization shipping our stuff into Haiti. Doug is in Haiti right now and the problem was that we didn’t have a number for him here to find out what was going on. The container arrived at the end of December and we’ve been expecting a call for a while. There’s a welder on there that we need so we can start building molds again, for us and for several other projects that are waiting for them. We also can’t do training until we have molds and we have people that have been waiting since last summer. To make things a bit more intense we ran out of diffusion plates this week. Done. Gone. Nada. This means we can’t install any more filters until we get the container contents.

So, we need you to pray. The hold up right now is in customs. It’s like this all over the country. When we talked to Doug on Wednesday evening he said that our stuff was on number 1 & 3 of five containers that were shipped. There’s a very good chance that the first three containers will be released TODAY. That would make it possible for us to pick them up early next week. Again, another case of just waiting. We seem to be doing a lot of that lately :)

While we wait for the container the guys have been busy getting the posts started for our solar panel support. We’ve had the panels donated by an organization in Canada and they’ll be shipped in February. There’s a small group of men coming in May to help install them. Before then we need to get the structure that they’ll sit on ready. It’s going to be about 30 feet up in the air so Chris is working with an engineer friend to make sure that the posts and the rest of it are all going to be strong enough. This is going to be an amazing thing to see go up, but also for the mission once it’s all installed. Right now we spend over $5000 each year on generator fuel. With the panels we’ll be able to reduce our running time from 5-6 hours a day to about 30 minutes – just long enough to fill our water tank. That’s going to be a big savings for the mission, considering that our average monthly operating expense here is about $6000.

Uh oh. Chris just came in to tell me that he’s going to lay down the smack. Our workers have had a bit of a motivation problem in the last couple weeks. We know it’s partly because Chris was sick for so long and not able to keep an eye on them. Work ethic here is so different than back home. Well, for the most part. In the morning our guys get a 15 minute break. Usually they send one person, maybe two, to go get breakfast for everyone. Well, it seems that today everyone has gone except for two workers, and they’ve already been gone for 20 minutes. When they come back they’re going to want to sit and eat. Chris is sending them home for the rest of the day. He’s already had to send one guy home this week, then had a meeting with everyone about taking their jobs seriously and working hard. We have to go through this about once or twice a year. It’s been a while so it’s due. It’s frustrating and sometimes it feels like working with children, but for the most part they’re a good bunch of workers. They’ve all had to learn how to have a job to start with, and sometimes they just need to remember that this isn’t a charity case and they need to work for the pay we give them, which is pretty good compared to what they would be getting otherwise. So, it’s going to be a quiet afternoon around here.

That’s the news for today.
~Leslie

This entry was posted in adoption, this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

2 thoughts on “Friday Bits and Pieces

  1. When Wayne and Melissa were at Canaan, they had a container it took about 9 months to get…and they had perishable stuff in it. wound up a mess. hopefully welders don’t rot! I would think that trying to “think” and live in a Haitian way culturally, is the hardest thing to do. You have to change or try to forget your whole life of learning on how to act or what to expect from others. Or you go ahead and hold people accountable and face the consequences. hang in there guys, praying for those containers to get released….maybe even delivered!!! :)

  2. Leslie,I hate housework more than you do, but I am a crazy woman when it looks bad and I can’t find what I need. We have what is called a “Mad 30” We all run around the house for 30 minutes and clean as fast as we can. When the 30 minutes are over, we just quit. I can tell you. In 30 minutes one person can get a lot done! Two people twice the work! And heck, three people can darn near clean a house in 30 minutes! Here’s a sight that gives me a smile. Go check it out.http://flylady.net/pages/begin_babysteps.aspHave a great weekend!V

Leave a Comment

