Review of a Day in Port

Chris and I had a pretty good trip into Port yesterday. The downside for me was the back pain. This thing just doesn’t seem to want to go away. I’ve been on a steady diet of Ibuprofen for about a month now, maybe longer, and I have good days and bad days. Not much is seeming to help, yet it doesn’t feel like anything more than a needed visit to the chiropractor. The problem is that I don’t know of a chiropractor in Haiti. Any suggestions?

We tried to leave in the VW but didn’t even make it up the driveway before we had to turn around and creep it home. Some tube or something… So, we decided to take the BIG Daihatsu because there was a chance we might have been able to pick up some of the container stuff. I was rooting for Big Red because it’s surprisingly easier to ride in than Old Blue. Chris has only driven it a couple times though, so as he was learning how it handled I was bumping around. We didn’t end up getting any of the container stuff but decided to buy a load of blocks for the dorm building so the truck was heavier going home and the ride might be a bit smoother for me. I appreciated that :)

The day was pretty productive. We decided to leave a bit later than usual because it hasn’t been taking us as long to get into town and if we got there too early nothing would be open. After we checked the pricing on the blocks and got all the info that we needed we headed over to the Toyota dealership to check out the van situation. We walked into the showroom and there in front of us was a brand new HIACE, which is exactly what we’re getting. We had only seen the last years models and our big concern was that there were only seat belts in the front row. The 2008 model that we saw yesterday, and is exactly like the one we’ll be getting, comes with all the bells and whistles. It has seat belts to start. But the interior drivers area also feels like a car. It seats 15, has AC, tape deck (fine with us because we can plug the MP3 players in, etc. It even has cup holders. I was really excited about that because I get to be the designated coffee cup holder when we go into town, so now Chris will be able to grab his coffee whenever he wants :) Yes, it’s the little things.

When we asked about the van we found that it was already sold. We asked when the next ones will come in. February. We know Haiti. We know February might mean February. Or it might mean March. Or April. Maybe even May. We got a bit annoyed when we asked to speak to the saleswoman and we were told she was on the phone with another client. They were having a good conversation about Digicel cards from what I heard. We’ve been in there a few times now and still haven’t gotten to talk to her. Chris even told the guy in the reception area that we wanted to buy a van and pay cash. Still nothing. Sometimes shopping in Haiti feels like you’re inconveniencing people. Seriously. Sometimes I want to look at them and say, “Do you realize that without me wanting to buy this you wouldn’t have a reason to have this job??” I don’t think it would do much good.

So there it is. We’re going to be getting a new van sometime in the next year. It’s a nice van. It’ll be a HUGE blessing. Whenever we do finally get it. Ha ha.

After Toyota we went to MEGA MART (of course said with the big echoy voice). I got excited when I saw that they had another 10lb block of cheddar. It’s been a while. My enthusiasm was quickly waned, even joined with some sputters and choking when we got a price check and the block would have set us back $75! Last time it was more than half that price. Who knows why.

We finished up our shopping at Caribbean. This usually involves me walking around the store trying to accomplish the list and Chris wandering around the store trying to not annoy me or distract me and trying to entertain himself. What can I say, the guy doesn’t enjoy shopping.

We went to Madame Belliards, the yummiest bakery in all of Haiti, for a quick lunch, then headed over to the dentist. After a bit of tourist driving we finally found the place. It’s been decided by all parties involved that we will never go back to a Canadian or American dentist as long as we live here. Dr. Nazon is super nice and has a better equipped office than my dentist back home. After some nice chit chat she got down to work and my check up and cleaning was done in about 15 minutes. She’s got this crazy electric cleaning pick that hurt a bit more initially, but half an hour later I wouldn’t have known I was at the dentist unlike when I’m back in Canada with someone rooting around in my mouth. When all was said and done it cost just over $100 for the two of us to get check ups and cleanings. Last time we went in Canada, with x-rays as well, it was over $350! See, there are definite advantages to living here!

I’ll be spending some more quality time with Dr. Nazon in the coming months as I have several cavities. Gah! Yes. I was appalled when she told me because until this last year I’ve had great teeth. One cavity in all my years until last fall. I realized that my problem is two fold. Several years ago I was on medication continually for about 3 years. I was told to watch my calcium levels, but apparently I didn’t do a good enough job with that. Also, we get water right from our well. It’s not treated with fluoride like back home. The combo has degenerated my teeth a bit. No worries, I’ll go get my fillings, take my calcium supplements, and start using a fluoride rinse.

Going to the dentist yesterday just reminded me that Haiti is this crazy mix of unexpected thing. Outside, the traffic and people on the streets were so what I would expect from this place. Inside the office, I didn’t expect what I found. Friends of ours have been going through some tough stuff with their youngest baby being in the hospital here. She’s in the best hospital in the country and the only one I would consider going to here because it’s nicer than most hospitals that I’ve seen back home. Stuff like this makes me realize that Haiti has potential. And I wonder what this place will be like years from now. I’m starting to feel more hopeful about this place. Who knows, maybe it’ll eventually become this thriving country again. Maybe not in my life time, but I might get to witness some of the progress.

On the way home Chris and I were talking about the adoption and we both finally came out and said what I think we had been holding in for a while. Neither of us feel like it’s going to happen any time in the near or immediate future. Chris’ parents are coming to visit in a few weeks and their intention, besides seeing us, was that they would get to meet their new grand daughter. We will be very surprised if they have a grand daughter to meet. We just don’t feel it in our guts that it’s going to happen. We could be very wrong. God could have other plans for us. But, until those play out or he shows us something this is where we’re at. I was glad to find out that I wasn’t alone in my feelings. I don’t understand it. I have no answers. It just is. I think before, when we would talk about it, we sort of thought that Haiti has so many orphans that it shouldn’t be a long wait until we got the call. I was thinking about it this morning though and there are so many little pieces that need to come together before we get brought into the picture. The baby needs to be born. The mother needs to make a decision, if she’s able to. If not, someone else needs to make it on her behalf. They need to bring the baby to John and Beth. They need to get all the background that they need. If the baby fits what we’re wanting (orphan, girl, as close to newborn as possible or about a month old or younger) then they need to contact us to see if its a fit. We say yes or no. That’s a lot of pieces. I know God is so very able, and I know that he’s already got a plan in place. When we get brought into that plan is his business. It’s our job to just follow.

That, however, is not easy. It’s the hard part. As Chris prayed at breakfast and struggled to find the words to tell God how hard this is I found myself feeling grateful that at least we were both feeling the same way about it. We’re on the same page. We’re journeying together. I can see how our faith is changing and we’re just having to learn to trust in a new way, or maybe we’re going through a refresher course of sorts. I don’t know. I wish I had more answers. But, I don’t. I know when the pieces finally fall into place that we’ll look back and have a chance to marvel at God’s hand in all of it. Until then, we wait. We move on with life. We do other things. That’s the hard thing for me, wanting to do other things. I was so ready. I was planning on life being so different after Christmas. Now it just feels the same. :) I guess there could be worse things.

On a totally random side-note, Chris told me yesterday that he heard that they’re planning on adding another digit to Haiti’s phone numbers. So we’ll be ####-####? SO very strange to me. But, it does feel very exotic and foreign. Sometimes I don’t feel all exotic and foreign living here because it’s only 2 hours from the US. Then I’ll see things like, “Haiti, West Indies” written. Now, West Indies, that sounds exotic! Ha ha. So yes, we’ll be living in the West Indies where we have 8 digit phone numbers :)

This entry was posted in adoption, this is haiti, this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

3 thoughts on “Review of a Day in Port

  1. Leslie, I sympathize with your frustration as you wait for your new daughter. But don’t be frustrated on our account. We are sooo looking forward to visiting you and Chris, baby or no baby. Obviously baby would be a bonus, but just being there with you two is good enough for us. The real estate market here is so depressing — we just want to get away from it for a bit and enjoy sharing your life with you.

  2. seems as if some frustration and faith/trust building is going on all over Haiti, from the blogs I am reading. so easy to comment on, so hard to go thru yourself. take care both of you, will be praying about the baby thing and the “normal” Haiti frustrations!

  3. Off subject, but we are all praying for the Livesay’s littlest one, can you tell us, who have lived in Haiti, which hospital she is at? Is it new? I know they have her in good hands, just curious and I did’nt want to bother them with my questions. Praying also for you dear folk…for your sweet baby in His timing. waiting stinks. hugs Amy

Leave a Comment

