When People Pray

Hi Everyone!

The good news is that I’m on the mend! Completely. Wahoo!

On Saturday morning I woke up with a fever of 103.6 (blah) and it went down slightly during the day, but then back up late afternoon and stayed there. Around 6:30 Chris walked over to ask our neighbor who works at a little hospital/clinic not far from here if there was any way to see the doctor that night. We were starting to get worried that I had malaria or something like meningitis. We were able to see the doctor and after doing a full exam she said that she thought I just had a really bad cold, or what I’m understanding is probably an infection from the cold that I did have, thus the spike in temperature. I’ve had bronchitis and bronchial pneumonia before, as well as chest infections so it’s something I have to watch. She gave me a bunch of medicine and vitamin supplements. I woke up yesterday morning still at 103, but by noon I was down to 98.7! I’m still coughing a lot and my throat and chest feel raw, but I don’t have the fever any more and I’m up and around again. I even made breakfast this morning.

The good news about being down with the fever was that I kept up with my Ibuprofen and with all the bed rest my back is feeling 100% better. I’m going to keep taking the Ibuprofen for a few more days like I’ve been told to do so my muscles can stay relaxed and let everything fall back into place.

I hate being sick in Haiti because there’s a certain level of helplessness that settles in just because you don’t know who to talk to or whether what you need is even available. It’s often after the fact that you start finding out what resources are really here. There’s no yellow pages with doctors and clinics listed or 911 to call in case of an emergency.

Thanks to all of you that have been praying for me/us. It means a lot to us to know that we’re covered in prayer and to have the support that you give us. Please continue to pray that we’ll both be completely healthy soon. Chris still has a bit of a cough, but is other wise up and around like normal. We also appreciate your prayers about the baby. We’re both just waiting, but trying to focus on other things in the mean time.

Have a great day!
~Leslie

This entry was posted in randomness, this is haiti by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

5 thoughts on “When People Pray

  1. So glad to hear you are feeling better Leslie! I like to hear about the health care available in Haiti. Even though I will be living in a hospital compound there are many things that they would not be able to handle if something serious happened to me. Reassuring to hear from you and the Livesay’s that good care is available if needed. Keeping your back in my prayers!

  2. oh i’m so glad to hear you’re on the mend. a temperature like that for an adult is profoundly miserable. please continue to take care of yourself. it’s easy to relapse if you don’t take it easy so even when you’re feeling pretty good, take it slow. in other words, milk it if you can. bless you girl!

  3. So the sick that you had is exactly like the one Dad had a couple days ago. He even had the super high fever that went away after a day or so. Yuck. I’m glad you’re better now!Liz

  4. Hello! I am an adoptive mom of a 13 month old baby girl in Haiti. We are going to pick her up in about three weeks to bring her home to Seattle, I just wanted to say hello and to offer support in this hard, long wait to become a family of three. Take Care!T.

Leave a Comment

