Not Much to Share

Is it possible to cough your brains out? I’m starting to feel like it is. I was doing well yesterday, had a bunch of energy and took advantage of that in the morning and did some stuff around the house that I had been looking at for the last week. Then I crashed. I slept for about 3 hours straight in the afternoon. Dead sleep. It felt good considering I was up coughing for most of the night, not sleeping. The downside was that I woke up with a killer headache. I was pretty dozy for the rest of the afternoon and was back in bed around 6 and stayed there.

I’m up now, had a shower (it had been a couple days) and made breakfast. Now I’m just sitting here coughing and typing. It’s more of the annoying cough now though, not the “turn your throat inside out” like it was a couple days ago. Being sick in Haiti just feels so much worse than being sick back in Canada. I’m not sure why, it just does.

The mission is a hive of activity. The guys are still working on getting the posts built for our solar panels. I think they’re getting close to being done though. Chris has been chopping things down and cleaning things up. He’s trying to get one small storage area cleaned up so we can put all the bunk beds and stuff from the dorms in there, and then knock the dorms down. We want to start that in the next week or so I think so that we can get started on the rebuild faster.

This weekend is a holiday – Mardi Gras or Carnivale as they call it here, on Tuesday. But, the party goes all weekend. This means all of our neighbors will be out so we’ll have people to visit with, and Tuesday at least is a day off work, maybe Monday too. Wahoo! I love days off work.

That’s all the excitement there is here. Hope you’re having a good week so far.

~Flemmy Rolling

This entry was posted in this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

2 thoughts on “Not Much to Share

  1. Wow, Haiti is ahead of our area in the greening of energy resources. An local area with a home owners association won’t allow a family to put up their solar panels on the South side of their house. This is because the panels are “unsightly”. Solar panels would however be allowed on the North side of the house. Mm hmm. Barb J

Leave a Comment

