Day 4

Sorry for the lack of updates. I was trying yesterday but Blogger and Google were being cranky.

The new Rolling family is doing very well. Chris and I are feeling a bit tired because we’re not used to this weird sleep schedule, but I suspect that will come with time. Olivia usually wakes up about twice a night and last night she woke, ate, burped, then fell asleep again. I can so do that :) She doesn’t always want to go to bed at the same time as Mom, but Dad has taken that shift because he also hasn’t been ready for sleep at 8 pm over the last couple days. I usually get about 2-3 hours at a time before I’m needed again.

Miss O is settling in well. We’re settling in well. We LOVE being parents. I LOVE that we get to both be home. I LOVE that I have an excuse to stay in my pyjamas now if I want to :) This kid hardly cries. She smiles a lot which is fun. We’re already noticing that she’s filling out a bit more from a few days ago. Tomorrow we get to go see Dr. Jen on our way to Port because O has a gooey eye. Nothing major, just something we want to have looked at. We can get her weighed too which will be fun.

We’re going to head to Port tomorrow afternoon to spend the night with friends. They’re very excited to meet O. We have everything we need for being gone overnight, that was one thing I made sure we were set for just knowing what our life is like here. Saturday we should be able to pick up the stuff from the container which is why we’re really going to town. It’s very exciting.

It’s been really fun for us to see how people have responded to us being parents, and to adopting. All of our workers are very happy. Yonese was super sweet when I called her in the house on Monday and showed her the baby. She was overjoyed and excited. We weren’t sure how our other friends would react. They were out for the weekend because of Karnival, so we did the rounds on Monday afternoon. The best feeling came when one of them, who had been quite vocal about us not adopting said, “I’m an honest person, and I was discouraging you from adopting, but when I look at that beautiful little baby and I see what a gift you are giving her I understand now why you wanted to do this and I think it’s great!” It was encouraging because we know now that our children are going to be accepted no matter what color their skin is and how they became part of our family.

And now, because I know you’ll be wanting them, some pictures from the last few days:

Hangin’ out at the beach on Tuesday afternoon.

We call this the “Yay” pose.

This was taken while she was still at Maranatha Childrens home. Thanks Jess!

First bath at home. Olivia was not a happy camper. I think she looks like a little boxer.

O had another bath today and that was a much better experience. She’s peed on me twice while in the midst of diaper changes. Yeah, ha ha! Laugh all you want. She likes to be bundled up to go to sleep, but also likes to kick all her blankets off. Actually, let me rephrase that. She kicks her feet out and stretches her arms out and manages to keep the blanket around her middle. I call that talent.

Well, the wee one should be waking up soon, so I’m going to sign off. Happy Thursday!

~Leslie

This entry was posted in adoption, this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

5 thoughts on “Day 4

  1. Hi Rollings, glad to hear things are going well. I’m curious, and you don’t have to answer if you don’t want to, how is the breastfeeding working out?Amy

  2. Ok, nice to hear it is going so well. You missed the details I wanted to hear. Birthdate, background story, what is was like getting the call and meeting her for the first time. When you have time can you fill us in.

Leave a Comment