It’s Monday

Liv has been home for one week exactly. We’re starting to get this parenting thing and seem to make advancements in our techniques everyday. I didn’t take a nap yesterday and I survived We had her weighed on Friday at Lifeline when we stopped in for a visit. She was 5.4 lb when we met her and one week later she was 6.1 lb. I say that’s some good gain for one week :) She definitely has an appetite. Yesterday we had a missionary meeting and some of the ladies surprised us with a cake to celebrate her arrival. That was fun and delicious.

Some of the most exciting news of the weekend is that we went to Port on Friday night, stayed with some friends, and came home with a truck full of our container contents. We’re so happy! As I type Evens is doing the plumbing in the bathroom for the washing machine. Our new to us fridge is in the kitchen and working beautifully. Chris was really excited because he found out it uses less power than the old fridge and freezer combined. He was so pleased that he even screwed the light bulb back in so I have a light in there. Totally not a requirement but a nice little treat. I have a new to me kitchen sink that will also get installed sometime in the future when we’re less busy with other projects. The welder arrived and is working beautifully and we have diffusion plates again which is good because we have about 100 people waiting for filters. Our staff are going to be doing several delivery runs this week to catch up.

Unpacking the boxes was fun because Chris didn’t remember what was in them, and I had no idea because I wasn’t there. There were some great surprises for me. Our friends Barb and Paul were renovating their house and building a new one when Chris was there, so they had a lot of stuff they were getting rid of in anticipation of the move. I got to be the recipient of dishes, Tupperware, bake ware, and some cast iron stuff. All fabulous and I’m having fun using it.

Well, time is short because we’re having friends over for dinner tonight and I have to take advantage of nap time.

This entry was posted in adoption by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

2 thoughts on “It’s Monday

  1. Did the last clue help you? Did the container give some help? Maybe even a solution? Should have emailed this eh? I am so glad you like the new fridge. My new one is shallower, it has less room and it is taking a bit to get used to it. We didn’t need such a big fridge for two of us so I am very happy it has a new home.I had a baby grand too but Chris didn’t want it. I think that van would have collapsed under the weight. Hugs enjoy enjoyBarb J :)

Leave a Comment

