They’re Here!

Man, our internet is being s-l-o-w today. Boo!

Chris’ parents arrived yesterday afternoon and they were very quick to start cuddling on their granddaughter. She was very quick to soak it all up. I think she likes being the center of attention. With parents come goodies and I had fun unpacking the suitcase that was designated to all of our fun stuff. Friends and co-workers of Mum & Dad sent some gifts for us. Liv got the cutest little stuffed lamb that plays lullabies, and one of my friends, knowing me well because she lived with me, send Liv two pairs of shoes. Because a girl can never have enough.


I always hear parents say that their kids grow up too fast. I had always sort of thought “yeah, yeah…” Now I/we get it. We’ve only had Olivia home for 12 days and we’ve already watched her grow and change. Every day she’s doing something different or we notice that she’s filled in a bit more. It’s amazing. Today she was laying on the floor on her Granny quilt just playing on her own with some wiggling and kicking. It was fun to see her so happy and to watch what is entertaining for her. I loved being down on the floor at her level, having her grab for my fingers and face because it was there. Yes, she’s starting to notice things. Her eyes focus on stuff now and I find she watches me more. It’s very cool.

Today was also a big day because she wore her very first dress. Until now she’s been too tiny to fit into anything but little Onesies. Today I thought I’d give a dress a try and was amazed that it fit her. I mean, it’s still a bit big, but it’s not falling off her. I think she looks super cute.

Tonight the parents are taking us out to dinner at Club Indigo. It should be a nice evening. I used to think that having a baby around would slow us down and make it hard for us to go places, but I’m surprised at how much we’ve been out. Almost exhausted by it actually. I’m looking forward to tomorrow morning because we don’t need to be up at any specific time. If Liv wakes us up we can feed her and have family cuddle time rather than having to be up and around because it’s a work day. I feel like the last two weeks have been crazy and am really wanting a restful weekend.

I’m going to sign off. I’m not sure how much I’ll be blogging over the weekend. I think I’ll find myself sleeping and visiting for the most part.

This entry was posted in this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

