What I Do When I Can

Chris took his parents to St. Marc today to see Barb and visit her school. Chris’ Mum did a community project called Lego for Haiti to collect Lego for Barb’s school kids to use and they were going to distribute some of it in the classes today.

Me, I got to stay home with the baby.

And, I’m loving it.

It’s been the first “normal” morning that I’ve had in over a week I think. Liv had a really good sleeping night last night, which meant that Chris and I had a really good sleeping night last night. I’m really learning that parenting is all about just finding your own way, doing what works for you. There are few definite right and wrong ways of doing things. We’re in the process of finding our way. It’s meant some frustration, like the other night where I broke down weeping because I so badly wanted the child to go to sleep so I could curl up in bed with my husband and head off to dream land. The weeping just brought out more of Chris’ character when he quickly jumped out of bed, grabbed the baby and kissed me, then told me to go to sleep and that he would take care of her. He had been dead asleep when the tears started to fall. Yes, I feel completely blessed that I get to do life with this man.

So, what does a woman who’s adjusting to parenting while having her in-laws visit do when she gets several hours to herself and the baby is asleep?

She sweeps and mops the house. I can’t help it, it makes me feel calm to be able to walk around the house in bare feet, feel the cool tile and not feel like I’ve just walked through the yard. I grew up in a home where shoes were not allowed past the door way so it’s still hard for me to feel gritty feet in my own house. In fact, some days it just drives me crazy.

She spends time drinking a big glass of ice water while she journals and does her devotions. I’ve really been slacking in that department. I got myself a new devotional for busy women. Just one page a day and today’s was fitting and a good reminder. Wait on God. To do whatever he’s doing. I know he’s got some big stuff for us so I will wait and let him bring me his peace in the process.

She paints her toe nails. I never used to focus that much on my feet back in Canada. Here though they just feel and look grubby half the time so a nice coat of somethin’ somethin’ always makes me feel put together and “clean”. Yes, it’s usually all smoke and mirrors, but a girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do.

She gets stuff ready to make a big pot of chili for lunch.

She cuddles and feeds her baby.

She gives her baby a bath and feeds some more, all the while breathing in the amazing scent of clean, non-milk neck baby.

She makes said pot of chili.

She cuddles squawking baby while checking Facebook. Baby falls asleep and goes back to bed.

She checks email.

She changes all the sheets on beds in the house. Reminds herself to wash mattress pad next time the sheets are off.

She mops up the puddle of water from under the leaky sink and reminds herself that sometime in the future the new sink that arrived on the container will get installed and the installation will put an end to the mopping and leaking. She smiles at this.

She stirs the chili.

She enjoys the crazy breeze blowing through her house.

She blogs.

She realizes that she is feeling refreshed and energetic, all from having a little down time to herself and feeling like she’s been able to get her house back in order.

She is happy.

This entry was posted in adoption, this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

3 thoughts on “What I Do When I Can

  1. Leslie, I’m so glad you got to have a “normal” morning! I know that it is quite an unusual thing to have in Haiti but such a needed one! I’m glad you got to enjoy your morning and that you are happy : )Love the photos of Olivia in her cute little dress! She is adorable!!love to see more photos when you get a chance and any more stories you have about getting the call and any other “history” on Liv. Also, do you know her birth date?blessings…

  2. leslie, Getting me time is a must at the beginning! I remember when my son came home, I got 45 min of sleep ( in 10mn sections) the first 4 days. Thank God my sister’s and I live in the same house, I finally ask my night owl of a sister too take him for a couple of hrs so I could shower and sleep. Love on her and bond with her is precious too! God Bless, Rose Anne

Leave a Comment

