More On Olivia…Surprise, Surprise

It’s Thursday already. I’m glad the weekend is coming. I’m tired.

I had a really good day yesterday. Chris went to take his parents to the airport so I had the house to myself. I took the opportunity to tidy up the house and just unwind a bit. I’ve been feeling a bit “off” because we haven’t had any consistency since we brought Olivia home. The whole process of getting her home was emotional and consumed us. We brought her home on Karnival weekend so we spent a lot of time visiting with the neighbors. Then we spent the weekend in Port. Dennis came out that weekend and stayed until Tuesday so he could do some work on the boat. We also got the container contents that weekend and spent several days unpacking. The bathroom got ripped apart and the washing machine was installed, all while we went without water in the house for over 24 hours. One day off, then Chris’ parents came on Thursday and they were here until yesterday morning.

Phew!

It was nice to have a day where I could take care of Liv and just see what she did. When she was hungry. When she napped. How long. There hasn’t been much opportunity for that and it’s been throwing me off. I want to know my daughter! :) We had a good day just hanging out. I was able to get a lot done while she was napping and even got a nap in myself in the afternoon. I even had dinner all ready when Chris walked in the door. I had to chuckle to myself and thought about what a fabulous 50’s housewife I would have made yesterday. Yesterday. Today I can make no promises.

A friend in an email asked that I start writing about more of what Olivia does in a day. Well, right now she sleeps a lot. She eats a lot. She gets very enthusiastic about her food. Sometimes ravenous. She often gets “milk neck” as we call it, where she spits milk out while she’s sucking it in and it runs down her chins (yes, there’s more than one now) and around her neck. She’s starting to have some good awake times where she likes to just hang out and look around. She likes her bouncy seat. She lets her mother dress her in cute outfits that may or not fit well. Usually not so well yet, but give her a week or two. She still likes to fall asleep on her Daddy’s chest. She drools on her Mommy’s black t-shirts. Probably others but black and milk drool just seem to enhance each other. She smiles a lot. She’s pretty calm for the most part unless she wants to be held or wants food. She’s started making some new noises which is fun. He nose is longer. She does a lot with her hands, all the time. They’re always moving, touching her face, being balled into little fists, sometimes even being sucked on in a precarious way. Right now I’m watching her in her bouncer as she wiggles around and entertains herself. She also likes to cuddle. She can also belch like I’ve never heard a baby belch before. Consistently. Good digestive system on this one.

Would you believe that we’ve had rain the last two nights. Today everything is very wet. It’s been so nice, and much earlier than we were expecting. Maybe we’ll have a good, long rainy season this year. Who knows, it could stop and not come back for several months.

Have a great day!
~Leslie

This entry was posted in adoption, this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

