Sniffles On A Monday

We had a pretty restful weekend of doing not much. Friends that have been in country for the last two weeks at another mission took us out to dinner on Friday night to Club Indigo which was a nice calm treat. It’s the second time in a week that we had been there and everyone was excited to see the baby and how much she’s grown. The guys at the reception desk were being silly and were even going to give her a bracelet for dinner :)

Olivia is doing good. I know that’s what you want to know. Chris and I are just chopped liver now. ;) She’s been sleeping good and last night we tried something new and put her in her bassinet downstairs rather than up in our room. Someone gave us a baby monitor which is great, except that I had a hard time going to sleep initially because I kept wondering if it was set at the right volume so I’d hear her when she woke up. Sigh. Needless to say, but I’ll say it anyway because that’s what you do when you say “needless to say”, I’m a bit tired today. She did really well down there and actually slept for a four hour stretch which was very nice. I think she was making up for the sleep she wasn’t getting earlier. Today Liv held her first thing that wasn’t a finger. I was pretty excited. Of course it meant me putting it in her hand, but she held onto it for a long time :)

Me, (thanks for asking by the way) I have a cold, again. This is ridiculous and dumb. I think I’ve now officially been sick for the last month and a half. Booooo. I think taking the antibiotics for my chest infection weakened my system and the lack of sleep helped too. Now I’m just taking in the germs! Chris was feeling “coldish” yesterday night too. It’s enough to make me want to take a vacation where we can just sleep and rest and get better, but then I remember that even if we did that we would still have a baby that wakes up every few hours…sigh again.

Things are picking up speed around here quickly. I’m so glad my job is to just hang out and look after my daughter because thinking about everything else is exhausting. The solar panel project is officially on hold now for the next couple months. The panels won’t be here until May and the work we have left to do will take some time, but it’s not the most pressing thing now.

The most pressing thing(s) now are the dorms and the molds. Chris got the guys started on dismantling the dorms last Friday. Today I woke up from my sleep in until 7 am to grinding. You know, metal grinding. They were grinding the roofing anchors off the metal roofing so they could start taking the roof off the building today. I hadn’t been out there since last week when they were clearing out the beds so I was kind of amazed at how much progress has been made in a short period of time. The roof will be all off by the end of today I think, or really, really close. Luxon is flying on it. The dorms are just a shell now which is so strange because as long as I’ve known Clean Water for Haiti I’ve known the dorms. The rebuild is exciting though and will see a better building go up with some minor improvements, like an extra bathroom added to the big dorm, and then the staff apartment will go up sometime this fall.

The small side sans roof.

Chris got Manes (man-ess) started on the new molds today, then the plasma cutter did something and now it’s not doing anything. Boo. The exciting thing for us, aside from finally being able to make molds, is that Chris is working on a mold redesign again. The very first mold created for the filters made the filters about 300lb, before the sand and gravel went in. Several years ago Chris and the engineer that’s helping us with the dorm and solar panel array construction redesigned the mold to what it is now. It’s about 160lb. We’ve been able to make some changes to the filter in the last few months that have helped eliminate 2 inches of gravel in the bottom of the inside filtering components (to see the filter and it’s make up go HERE). That means that we’re currently adding more sand than we need to, to get the levels inside the filter right. Chris found out from CAWST that we’re about 4 inches over the required amount of sand. This means that Chris can eliminate about 3-4 inches from the filters height. He and Manes are working on the first mold with those specs to see how it works. The filter will have all the required capacity, but will use less materials and be smaller for transport. A huge benefit. The last redesign is now the mold accepted world wide. I’m pretty proud of my honey and his ingenuity, and grateful that out of all the implementing programs we know we have the ability to not only run a filter program and train, but we have the facilities and tools to make progressive changes that can help people all over the world. It’s very exciting.

Well, time to get some rest.

This entry was posted in this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

4 thoughts on “Sniffles On A Monday

  1. Olivia is looking great! She has grown so much… I’ve been having conversations with new-mom-friends about sleeping arrangements with baby, and was curious about the decision to move the bassinet downstairs. I hear moms talking about having the bassinet right next to the bed to make night feedings easier, that’s the thinking behind the move?just curious!

  2. We have a bassinet down in Olivia’s room, and a play pen with a bassinet section in it up in our room. Olivia has been sleeping upstairs with us, but last night we tried her down stairs. When she’s upstairs and she wakes up we still need to go downstairs to get her bottle and do all that so I’m thinking that having her down there might mean less of a wake up than if we’re packing her all over the house. Also, Chris and I were doing some reading and it’s been found that babies who sleep in their own rooms actually sleep better because their parents aren’t jumping up and grabbing them at ever little squeak. I don’t know how much truth there is to that. I guess we’ll see over the next little while.

  3. I agree, Leslie! The baby monitors give moms more time to decide whether or not to react to squeels and whimpers. This in turn gives baby time to sooth herself. Once we put our babies in their own rooms, seems everyone had better nights of sleep.Best wishes to you and your princess! I just love reading about your adoption, now parenthood journey. (found your blog through Tara and Troy…) We are a family with 3 bio children and in the process of adopting 2 little boys from Three Angels. Blessings!Colleen

  4. Amen to babies in their own space. I know some moms out there are aghast, but I’ve given birth to two and adopted one, and EVERBODY did/does quite well in his/her own little quiet place.And that little Liv is lookin’ downright chubby. I love chubby.Candis

Leave a Comment

