Bone Dry Again

Well, no water in the house again. It’s okay though because it means my new sink is being installed. Evens took the taps off the old pipes this morning that they basically crumbled, so we had to wait until Chris could buy more on his way back from Montrouis. Evens is meticulous about his work and so careful with stuff which makes me happy. He managed to salvage the tile that he needed to and is just in the process of banging out the last bits so he can start fitting the new sink. It’s a double basin which I’m excited about because it’ll mean we can use one for wash water and one for a bleach water rinse. I also have a spray nozzle! Wahoo. Thanks Barb and Paul for passing on your stuff :) I’ve been trying to post pictures but they don’t want to work.

Other things are being banged and chipped away at today too. Mainly the dorm building. I’ve actually been super amazed and encouraged by the progress that they’ve been making. Luxon has basically been working on it on his own since Monday. He got all the roof off in one day, then the steel beams down in another. Today I went out and half of the front of the building was missing. Michel is helping him and they’re making light work of a really hard job. Though, it just goes to show why we need to do this rebuild before we can go up a level. When Chris knocked the new doorway in the kitchen it took him a good day of sledge hammer swinging to knock a doorway sized hole. Two guys have destroyed an entire wall in about three hours. The blocks used weren’t strong at all. The new ones we have will be noticeably different. It’s actually very exciting because we need to get this thing rebuilt by the middle to end of May. I thought demolition was going to take a lot longer, meaning the rebuild would take longer. There’s a good chance most of the building will be down in the next few days. I don’t know what kind of work we need to do on the foundation, if any, but I’m assuming the cement floors are going to come up too so we can start fresh with those too. I’ll be sure to keep posting pictures so you can see the process of Haitian construction. I think it’s all very fascinating, especially when it comes time to pour the ceiling.

I’m still feeling snotty. I decided yesterday afternoon that I was tired of being tired and sick and that I just wasn’t going to be anymore. I was surprisingly way more energetic this morning and was up earlier than I have been in the last week or so, despite still being up twice in the night. It feels good to have motivation to do things again. I’ve just felt so lethargic in the last weeks that it was starting to feel like I’d never come out of it.

Olivia is good. Today I put her in a Onesie, one that she’s worn several times, and it was noticeably more snug on her. She’s definitely growing. We haven’t had her weighed in a couple of weeks so I have no idea what she’s at now, but I’m guessing it’s around the 8lb mark.

Left: 2.5 weeks

Right: 5.5 weeks

Well, that’s the excitement from here today. Nothing deep and profound, just news. I did enjoy reading Tara’s post yesterday because I can so relate to it. Sometime I wonder if I’m getting hardened to things here, but I don’t think that’s it. I think it’s more of an acceptance that this is just the way it is. You do small things, you get excited about small improvements, knowing all the while that it may not make any lasting difference. There have been many times where I’ve felt totally beaten and wasted. This place will suck everything out of you, then come back for more before you ever have time to recover. I’m learning though, to hold on to the small things. It’s in those small things that you remember why you are here, that God has placed you here, and that no matter what else is going on, he still wants to bless and teach you. That’s hard at times, but it comes and goes in seasons and the hard seasons are hard, while the good seasons are very good. I’ve realized that I appreciate things going “right” a lot more than I did before, something that I feel many people take for granted in the first world.

Okay, I’m done! Have a great day.
~Leslie

This entry was posted in this is haiti, this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

3 thoughts on “Bone Dry Again

  1. Ok..The picture of Olivia on the left makes me think “What’s Kickin’ Chicken?” On the right, she is much rolley polley’er….what a doll!LeAnne The Haiti Lady

  2. Leslie:It is so good to see healthy little Haitian babies! Our twins were 14 months when they got home and one weighed 15 lbs and the other 16 if that! The little ones that are fortunate enough to have mom, or Aunt, in Annies case, there with them just thrive.I am sooo happy for you Leslie….I miss my twins being small….they are now 6!!Hugs

  3. This is so great to see how good she is doing – she looks great! You guys are doing a great job! Are you getting any sleep? Ha!

Leave a Comment

