After the Rain

Yes, we had rain. A big one. It started at about 4:30 am and didn’t stop until after 7. It was a flood the yard kind of rain. We haven’t had one of those since last summer. It was a great way to wake up this morning. It was sort of the icing on the cake for me because Liv only woke up once in the night. I, on the other hand, have gotten so trained to wake up twice that I was not so fortunate! The best part was when she woke up this morning. I thought it was because the rain was picking up and she was scared, but no, it was already 5:30 am and she was hungry. It was a good night, and I enjoyed crawling back into bed this morning to hide under the blankets for a while longer. That’s always a treat.

In other Olivia news, we’ve reached a milestone. As of yesterday evening she figured out how to use her face. Yes ladies and gentlemen, she smiled her first real smiles. I was elated. I was starting to wonder if we had a super serious baby on our hands, but no, she just needed to figure out how to make everything work together. We tried to get pictures this morning, but she got shy. I’ll post ’em when we have ’em.

This entry was posted in this is haiti, this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

2 thoughts on “After the Rain

  1. Yes, yes, we want pictures! It is such fun to see each new little step isn’t it. Baby smiles are the best smiles of all! Everyone around her will be smiling right along with her. Happy, happy, joy, joy………Hugs Barb J :)

Leave a Comment

