Unknown Name, Unknown Number

Okay, sometimes Haiti just cracks me up. Like, this morning when my cell phone rang. I need to preface this with the fact that my caller ID is a bit screwy on my phone. As in, if the number is entered into my phone book, it *should* show up as “Chris” for example, if Chris was phoning, but, it doesn’t. Nope, just the number. I have tried everything to get it to register properly, but to no avail. This usually means I have to have numbers memorized to know who’s calling, because the number shows up, but if I don’t know the number by heart, I’m left in the dark. 

So anyway… my phone rings this morning. I look and think “Who’s calling now?” I glanced at the caller ID and was confused because I didn’t recognize the number. Then I realized why. It wasn’t a Haiti number PERIOD. Once that clicked the rest came VERY fast and I picked up the phone and said, “MOM!”
Yes, my family phoned this morning and it made me sooooo very happy. Usually they can’t get through and just get all sorts of messages in French. Anyway, it was exciting. I got to talk to everyone for a few minutes. It made me happy. The funniest part for me was the fact that it actually registered on my caller ID, because if I called my family it would just come up as Unknown Name, Unknown Number. SO, maybe in some ways Haiti is advanced?!? LOL!
This entry was posted in this is life by Leslie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leslie

I'm Leslie. Wife. Mother. Missionary. In the day to day my husband and I are responsible for running Clean Water for Haiti, a humanitarian mission that builds and distributes water filters to Haitian families. Living in Haiti full time provides lots of stories, and as I tell my husband, our grandkids probably won't believe most of them. Maybe writing them down will give me some credibility.

Leave a Comment

